Lexi’s War

    • 2,99 €
    • 2,99 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

A family at breaking point. A nation at war…

1914. Young Lexi doesn’t want much – just her family’s happiness. She’s been working all the hours she can at the local sweet shop to help her mother lift her little brother and sister out of poverty. Maybe one day, if she tries hard enough, they can save enough to leave their tiny, cramped flat – and terrifying landlord, Mr McCann – behind. Although Lexi can’t help but wish her friendship with the landlord’s son, Johnny, could turn into something more.

They say it will all be over by Christmas. But with the country still at war months later, Lexi turns all her attention to making the sweet shop’s windows cheery, and look for small ways to keep her family’s sprits high. And, with courage, she might one day manage to help her family overcome the hardest of times.

An unforgettable story of family, friendship and courage which will warm your heart and fill you with pride. The perfect emotional wartime read for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.

Previously published as On Christmas Day

About the author

Born in Bristol of Welsh parentage, Rosie James lived in Somerset and was always a compulsive writer, her early enthusiasms kept alive by winning the occasional childhood prize, and much later by seeing her articles, short stories and romantic novels published. She was a trained singer, and as a lyric coloratura soprano, her roles included those in opera, operetta and oratorio. She enjoyed theatre and eating out with friends, entertaining regularly at home – and when her children and grandchildren visited, the party really got going. Rosie James passed away peacefully in March 2021 leaving a beloved family who are immensely proud of her literary achievements.

GENRE
Belletristik und Literatur
ERSCHIENEN
2017
1. Dezember
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
UMFANG
384
Seiten
VERLAG
HQ Digital
GRÖSSE
845,4
 kB

Mehr Bücher von Rosie James

2021
2021
2021
2019
2016
2015

Kund:innen kauften auch

2013
2015