• $26.99

Publisher Description

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring '20s. Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one-upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head-over-heels in love with her. This quick-study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets - those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity. But there is one man Giulietta will never forget: the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear.

A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto's Italian/American saga The Family Angel, Chicago's Headmistress can also stand alone. Every story has more than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap. And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after.

A must-listen for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO's Boardwalk Empire.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
TF
Thomas Fawley
LENGTH
08:46
hr min
RELEASED
2014
3 October
PUBLISHER
Loretta Giacoletto
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
395
MB