The Storm Girl

    • $21.99

    • $21.99

Publisher Description

The gripping new historical novel from the USA Today bestselling author of The Girl from Bletchley Park and The Forgotten Secret.

A heartbreaking choice. A secret kept for centuries.

1784. When Esther Harris’s father hurts his back, she takes over his role helping smugglers hide contraband in the secret cellar in their pub. But when the free traders’ ships are trapped in the harbour, a battle between the smugglers and the revenue officers leads to murder and betrayal – and Esther is forced to choose between the love of her life and protecting her family…

Present day. Fresh from her divorce, Millie Galton moves into a former inn overlooking the harbour in Mudeford and plans to create her dream home. When a chance discovery behind an old fireplace reveals the house’s secret history as a haven for smugglers and the devastating story of its former residents, could the mystery of a disappearance from centuries ago finally be solved?

Sweeping historical fiction perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and Tracy Rees.

Readers LOVE The Storm Girl!

‘Amazing book… Both timelines were compulsive reading.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Wow. Excitement by the bucketful!… Read this in record time. Recommend it.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Just the most beautiful book… I haven't read anything quite as engaging as this in recent years!’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Highly enjoyable… A gripping read.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would gladly give them… This one is up there with the best.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Brilliant.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I really enjoyed this book… Well researched and very compelling.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I really loved how this story played out with all the suspense, mystery and drama within each timeline, it kept me wanting to keep on reading to see what would happen next.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A great story.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the author

Kathleen McGurl lives in Bournemouth with her husband. She has two sons who have both now left home. She always wanted to write, and for many years was waiting until she had the time. Eventually she came to the bitter realisation that no one would pay her for a year off work to write a book, so she sat down and started to write one anyway. Since then she has published several novels with HQ and self-published another. She has also sold dozens of short stories to women's magazines, and written three How To books for writers. After a long career in the IT industry she became a full-time writer in 2019. When she's not writing, she's often out running, slowly.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
KK
Kitty Kelly
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
08:29
hr min
RELEASED
2022
11 May
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SIZE
524
MB