What You Are Looking for is in the Library What You Are Looking for is in the Library

What You Are Looking for is in the Library

    • 4.0 • 3 Ratings
    • $20.99

    • $20.99

Publisher Description

Brought to you by Penguin.

The heartwarming Japanese bestseller for fans of Matt Haig, Fredrik Backman and THE CAT WHO SAVED BOOKS

'Library. What a nice-sounding word. So comforting. I feel like I'm a student again. Library ... Am I allowed to borrow books?'

'What are you looking for?' asks Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian, Sayuri Komachi. She is no ordinary librarian. Naturally, she has read every book on her shelf, but she also has the unique ability to read the souls of anyone who walks through her door. Sensing exactly what they're looking for in life, she provides just the book recommendation they never knew they needed to help them find it.

Every borrower in her library is at a different crossroads, from the restless retail assistant - can she ever get out of a dead-end job? - to the juggling new mother who dreams of becoming a magazine editor, and the meticulous accountant who yearns to own an antique store. The surprise book Komachi lends to each will have transformative consequences.

Magical and uplifting, What You Are Looking for is in the Library is about the wondrousness of libraries and the power of books for change. Highlighting all the tiny comforts of being alive, it is a story that no reader will ever forget.

©2023 Michiko Aoyama (P)2023 Penguin Audio

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
HF
Hanako Footman
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
07:19
hr min
RELEASED
2023
10 August
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
450.7
MB

Customer Reviews

katinthebooks ,

best comfort read

this book is a warm hug, a cup of tea, and a cozy blanket.

Listeners Also Bought

Tales from the Cafe Tales from the Cafe
2020
Before the Coffee Gets Cold Before the Coffee Gets Cold
2019
The Bee Sting The Bee Sting
2023
The Yield: Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award The Yield: Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award
2019
The Marriage Portrait The Marriage Portrait
2022
The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart
2018