• $12.99

Publisher Description

A totally gripping Wiltshire mystery: the fifth book in the unputdownable DI Gillian Marsh series. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan and J.R. Ellis.

When a body is found in the grounds of a prestigious Wiltshire private school, DI Gillian Marsh takes on the case. The young groundsman, Bradley Watson, has been shot dead, pierced through the heart with an arrow.

As the investigation gathers pace, DI Marsh is frustrated to find the Whalehurst staff and students united in silence. This scandal must not taint their reputation. But when Gillian discovers pictures of missing Whalehurst pupil, fifteen-year-old Rachel Snyder, on Bradley's dead body - photos taken on the night she disappeared, and he was murdered - the link between the two is undeniable.

But what is Whalehurst refusing to reveal? And does Gillian have what it takes to bring about justice?

What readers are saying about Anna Legat:

'Brilliant. I didn't want to put it down!'

'It's a rare author who can keep me guessing until the end - and the ending was a shocker'

'Plenty of twists and turns'

'A brilliantly complex spaghetti of unrelated sub-plots to challenge any armchair sleuth'

'I thoroughly enjoyed this book, reading it cover to cover in a weekend'

'I shall look out for more from Ms Legat'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
15 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A thrilling mystery

A Conspiracy of Silence is the fifth book in the DI Gillian Marsh series and can easily be read as a standalone. What initially drew me to the book, was its striking cover and the ominous vibe it projected. It is foreboding and I was curious to know what the prestigious Wiltshire private school was hiding behind that front door.

Anna Legat has put together a plot that had me very intrigued. There is something about these types of stories that are in a school setting for the rich and of entitlement for some, that I find really interesting. Added to that, the mystery element of the death of the groundsman and a missing student, makes for a very enthralling read to see how these two investigations would become connected.

The characters are a diverse bunch and although not particularly likeable, they are well written for the roles they have been given to play. DI Gillian Marsh definitely had her work cut out for her with these investigations and the silence of those, including students, teachers and a very unaccommodating head master, has you second guessing each and wondering of their potential involvement.

Anna Legat did a good job of making me stay glued to the pages and there was enough tension and suspense built up throughout that held my attention and wanting to know more. There were some red herrings thrown in along the way to throw you off the scent and when all is finally revealed, does make for a satisfying conclusion.

As a new author to me, I did enjoy Anna Legat’s writing style which is very engaging. Just as a heads up for the reader, her writing style of jumping from one place or situation to another did have me questioning if I had missed something, but once I adjusted to the fact that this was obviously deliberate, it was much easier to go with the flow.

A Conspiracy of Silence was for me a good introduction to Anna Legat’s work and is a series that I would like to continue reading, both past and future books. It was a pleasure to read and review A Conspiracy of Silence which I recommend.

More Books by Anna Legat