A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald

    • 4.4 • 217 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

From New York Times bestselling author Natasha Lester comes a deliciously evocative love story of a small-town girl with big ambitions in 1920s New York, for fans of The Paris Wife and Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

It's the roaring twenties in the Manhattan of gin, jazz and prosperity. Women wear makeup and hitched hemlines and enjoy a new freedom to vote and work. Not so for Evelyn Lockhart, who is forbidden from pursuing her passion to become one of the first female doctors. Chasing her dream will mean turning her back on her family: her competitive sister, Viola; her conservative parents; and the childhood best friend she is expected to marry, Charlie.

In a desperate attempt to support herself through Columbia University's medical school, Evie auditions for the infamous late-night Ziegfeld Follies on Broadway. But if she gets the part, what will it mean for her fledgling relationship with Upper East Side banker Thomas Whitman - a man Evie thinks she could fall in love with, if only she lived a life less scandalous . . .

Captivating, romantic and tragic, A KISS FROM MR FITZGERALD follows a young woman ahead of her time amid the fragile hearts and glamour of Jazz Age New York.

INCLUDES BONUS SNEAK PEEK CHAPTER OF NATASHA LESTER'S Her Mother's Secret

Selected by Dymocks as one of the BEST BOOKS OF 2016

'If you're mad about the roaring twenties and love all things Gatsby, this romance will have you enchanted.' Woman's Day

'I loved this book.' Rachael Johns, bestselling author of THE PATTERSON GIRLS

'A glamorous, transporting read.' Woman's Weekly

'Stunning . . . Will have you captivated . . . Evie's story is one you won't forget.' Liz Byrski, bestselling author

'Evelyn's story is full of drama, heartbreak and determination, and the setting of Manhattan in the early 20s is brought to glorious vivid life. I particularly loved the scenes when Evelyn was fighting to be allowed to study medicine - they rang really true for me' Kate Forsyth

'At the novel's heart is the sparkling Evie, an endearing combination of intelligence, determination and naivety.' West Australian

'I'm calling it, Natasha Lester is our generation's Louisa May Alcott.' Tess Woods, award-winning author of LOVE AT FIRST FLIGHT

'Remarkable, intelligent and heartfelt . . . one of the best Australian fiction releases of the year.' J. F. Gibson

'I absolutely adored Natasha Lester's book! What a GEM!' Sara Foster, bestselling author

'A thoughtful and engaging read, A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald explores the true meaning of sacrifice and the importance of maintaining one's integrity in the face of adversity.' Books+Publishing

'A daring, captivating and tragic story told with charm, wit and more than a touch of Fitzgerald glamour.' MiNDFOOD

'The stand-out novel of 2016.' AusRom Today

'Wonderful. I love this author. You will not be disappointed.' Sally Hepworth

'Exquisite!' Vanessa Carnevale, author and blogger

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2016
26 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Australia
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.9
MB

Customer Reviews

DJT407 ,

A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald

From the name, I thought it would be a fairly lightweight read but I was so pleasantly surprised with the depth of content and research of the subjects. I really think it deserves a far better name it is a wonderful read.

Lilytom08 ,

A must read

Natasha Lester weaves a brilliant, absorbing story. She always keeps me up late reading! I loved this book as much as all her others. The historical details are eye opening. To think how scandalous it was, just one hundred years ago, to be a woman and want to be a doctor. To have to dance and sing in such a well known place as the follies to fund your dreams and living costs. Few would imagine today how those girls were loved but also scorned! The characters are always relatable and always stir so many emotions. I loved it!

Purple Mirror ,

Women Power

What an amazing depiction of the way women were treated as second class citizens during the 1920’s.

Evie is from the middle class whose expectation is for her to marry well in society & that was a female’s role.
Evie dreams of a different path after she horrifically witnesses a young student die giving birth out of wedlock & the discrimination behind that. This is her breaking point, she realises she wants to assist women giving birth by becoming an obstetrician, knowing she will give them the support they deserve during childbirth.
This path comes at a significant cost, as she is banished by her family. However that does not stop brave Evie, she becomes a Ziegfeld showgirl in order to fund her studies and survive.
Many obstacles face Evie especially when she forms a loving bond for the child born out of wedlock and the difficult decisions she has to make for the man she loves & her sister who marries a monster and the many secrets that haunt her.

A great book & really makes us appreciate the equality we continue to strive for.

More Books by Natasha Lester

2018
2020
2017
2019
2021
2022

Customers Also Bought

2021
2020
2016
2020
2012
2018