A Place to Call Home

    • 4.8 • 4 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

Ellen thought she’d always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he’s guaranteed a job and home for life.

But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak. Rather than stay – and starve – in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she’s ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets.

The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges. But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees; even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings.

Then tragedy threatens Ellen’s fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home?

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
29 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SELLER
The Random House Group Limited
SIZE
7.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Sue says it's true ,

A place to call home

I couldn’t put this book down.
This is my favourite by Val so far and I have read all but one of her books (That’s next).

The vulnerability yet tenacity of the character ‘Ellen’ caught me.
The intertwining of characters long forgotten from previous stories excited me and intrigued me.

Thank you Val, you’re a fantastic author, writer, storyteller!

More Books by Val Wood

2011
2013
2016
2008
2011
2011

Customers Also Bought

2018
2018
2018
2016
2017
2018