A Single Stone

    • 3.5 • 11 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Every girl dreams of being part of the line – the chosen seven who tunnel deep into the mountain to find the harvest. Jena is the leader of the line – strong, respected, reliable. And – as all girls must be – she is small; years of training have seen to that. It is the way of things. A girl must wrap her limbs, lie still, deny herself a second bowl of stew. But what happens when one tiny discovery makes Jena question everything she has ever known?



A Single Stone is an absorbing dystopian novel for younger readers by award-winning Australian author Meg McKinlay. This thought-provoking book deals with themes of gender and power, and is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Isobelle Carmody and Carole Wilkinson. For more of Meg’s gripping junior fiction, read Surface Tension. www.megmckinlay.com




“In almost all cases, shortness of breath is not a great feeling. In this instance, though, it was merely a symptom of good writing, and it happened as I read the opening pages of Meg McKinlay’s taut, thoughtful story about a girl who has spent most of her life squeezing through tiny passages, deep in a mountain of rock … An engaging, beautifully written novel that manages to pose big questions about gender and power, and thoroughly entertain. This is a quietly powerful, polished story. 4/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

GENRE
Young Adults
RELEASED
2015
1 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Walker Books Australia
SELLER
Walker Books Limited
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

FiFi1009 ,

Great, Amazing

So, first of all, a fault in the software has caused the description of this book to be swapped out with another one, so I, having already read the book will give you a short one by myself.

Jenna lives with her mum and is the leader of the line, a small group of girls who trek through small crevices in the mountains to find much needed resources. As Jenna's story progresses, she finds out things no one in the village expected.

I really enjoyed this book, and personally knowing the author, I am BEGGING her to write a sequel I loved this book so much. I would read it again and again.

I would recommend this for an audience of 11+ year olds who love a bit of mystery and suspense.
Five stars

More Books by Meg McKinlay

2019
2015
2016
2019
2021