• $11.99

Publisher Description

Can Monk uncover the truth behind a deadly opium conspiracy?

Propelled into the darkest corners of the opium trade, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry sends Inspector Monk on a thrilling adventure in A Sunless Sea, the eighteenth novel featuring the charismatic detective. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

'Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels' - New York Times Book Review

1864 and on the bank of the Thames, Monk is appalled at the shocking mutilation visited upon the body of a woman found on Limehouse Pier. But when enquiries into the brutal killing unearth a connection between the victim and Dr Lambourn, a brilliant, recently deceased scientist and staunch supporter for a new pharmaceutical bill aimed to regulate the sale of opium, it becomes clear that not all is as it seems. Lambourn's widow refuses to believe the official verdict that her husband's death was suicide; she is convinced that he was murdered after the research he was conducting was discredited by government officials intent on keeping the lucrative trade of opium flowing.

With pressure mounting for the river police to find the Limehouse killer, Monk is propelled headlong into an investigation that will delve into the darkest depths of the opium trade and threaten to expose corruption in the very highest echelons of society...

What readers are saying about A Sunless Sea:

'Perry is an agile word painter - so perfectly describing the sights and sounds of Victorian London from the dark Limehouse area to the posh West End that one feels transported to a different time and place'

'The reader becomes immersed in the tension'

'The characters are believable, the storyline ingenious and the reader [is kept] guessing right to the end'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2012
12 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
341
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Travellin12 ,

Sunless Sea

Another really good read by Anne Perry in her Inspector Monk series. A gripping crime novel that also raises an important social issue of the time as well as an intriguing personal moral dilemma.

More Books by Anne Perry

Other Books in This Series