• $4.99

Publisher Description

Born at the turn of the 20th century, in a dilapidated house in the Liverpool docklands, Nellie Williams endures a childhood of ill treatment by her mother. She escapes into domestic service with a kindly employer, but when he dies, she is taken on by Joshua Leadbitter. He assaults the innocent girl, and she flees home.

Sensing her unhappiness, Janey, a scheming lodger, swiftly arranges a marriage between the girl and Sam Meadows, a sailor who once befriended her. The rape is concealed from Sam and when Nellie’s son, Tommy, is born eight months later, there is doubt about his parentage.

As insecurities grow, and Nellie and Sam are pushed to their breaking point, they will be forced to face the truth behind Tommy’s heritage, and make a huge decision…
A gritty love letter to the author’s home town, A Wise Child is a spellbinding family saga, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Helen Forrester and Lyn Andrews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
18 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
726
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
572.6
KB

More Books by Elizabeth Murphy