Between Ink and Shadows

    • 4.0 • 89 Ratings

Publisher Description

She’ll win back her freedom, even if she has to steal it.

Nimona Weston has a debt to pay. Her father’s dealings with the dark society known as the Trust cost Nim her freedom. There’s one way out of the contract on her life and that’s to bide her time and pay the tithes. But when the Trust assigns Nim to a task in the king’s own castle, her freedom is not the only thing she’ll risk.

Warrick Spenser has a secret. As king’s seneschal, he should be the last soul in Inara to risk association with dark magic, but long-hidden ties to the Trust are harder to shed than simply cutting the threads. When the Trust sends a thief to his rooms, Warrick thinks he’s finally found a way to be rid of them for good. But Nimona Weston is hiding secrets of her own.

Magical contracts, blood-debt accountants, and a deadly game. An epic fantasy with regency flair, an improper and slightly stabby heroine with a penchant for trouble, clean, slow burn romance, and a dark and twisty plot that pits magic against kings, love against power, and a gothic underworld against a kingdom desperate to survive. Perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Shadows Between Us.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2020
1 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
249
Pages
PUBLISHER
Melissa Wright
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
695
KB

Customer Reviews

Ardenvale ,

Beneath Ink and Shadows

Melissa Wright
Y1. Beneath Ink and Shadows 8/10
Free iBook Fantasy. Lady Nimona (Nim) inherited her father’s contract to The Trust. She lives in the kingdom of Inara, where magic is banned, but there is a dark underbelly- a city below ground ruled by a magically powerful dark Queen. Nim is forced by the contract to do the bidding of Calum, the Queen’s twisted son and heir. Magic calls to Nim. She can sense it and if compels her towards it. When Calum sets her to steal from Warrick, the King’s seneschal, the one who keeps order in the city, she is caught and then made to work for him as well. This book has political intrigue and was very well written.

kazpev ,

Buffy wishes she was Nim…

A girl fighting the forces of evil, but is her will stronger than the factions that threaten her life and those she loves?

A book I couldn’t put down, a rich tapestry of a world woven from words that I can picture in my mind. Yet enough is unsaid, for me to fill in some details.

More Books by Melissa Wright

2011
2013
2011
2012
2018
2012

Customers Also Bought

2019
2019
2019
2020
2021
2020

Other Books in This Series

2021
2022