Body Language

The must-read forensic mystery set in Camden Town

    • 3.8 • 4 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs comes a gripping debut thriller introducing Camden's most exciting new forensic investigator.

'SPELLBINDING STORYTELLING' VAL MCDERMID
'A FIRST-RATE CRIME NOVEL ... I LOVED IT' ELLY GRIFFITHS
'LIKE SILENT WITNESS BUT MUCH MORE BELIEVABLE' SUSI HOLLIDAY

Mortuary technician Cassie Raven believes the dead can talk. We just need to listen . . .

Cassie Raven is used to people thinking her job is strange - why would anyone want to cut up dead bodies for a living? But they don't know what she knows: that the dead want to tell us what happened to them.

She's eviscerated thousands of bodies, but never someone she knew, someone who meant a lot to her - until now.

The pathologist says her death was an accident. Her body is telling Cassie differently.

Praise for Body Language:
'Blackly humorous, with a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist' Heat Magazine
'Ingenious and sardonically written' Financial Times
'[A] gritty novel with an engaging heroine' Sunday Times
'A terrific, well-placed plot' Spectator
'Cassie Raven is a lot of fun to spend time with' Big Issue
'Excellent fun, compulsive and Cassie Raven is a protagonist I want to meet again soon' James Oswald
'Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar' Sarah Hilary
'Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine' Isabelle Grey
'A fresh and exciting new series' Claire McGowan
'One of the best series openers I've read in years' Jane Casey

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
26 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
SELLER
Hot Key Books Limited
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A thrilling read

There is nothing better than a new series to sink you teeth into and Body Language is a very promising start to one. It is a dark thriller, that pulls you in and takes you hostage right from the get go and just consumes every inch of you. It is unique, compelling and I could not get enough of it!

The story follows Cassie Raven, a mortuary technician, who is able to hear the last thoughts of the dead. When the body of her friend and mentor Mrs E is brought in, the police having ruled her death accidental, Cassie’s intuition kicks in of something more sinister at play, which leads to her own investigation in search of the truth.

Cassie Raven is such a brilliant character whom I formed an instant connection with. She is so complex, has many layers to her and is very different to the norm, which is what appealed to me the most about her. I can’t wait to get to know her more in future books.

The story is fast paced and with it short chapters, has you flying through them wanting more. I found this very hard to put down and when life rudely interrupted and I had no choice but to, it was always in the back of my mind until I could pick it up again.

All up Body Language is a thrilling read that will have you hooked from start to finish. It is twisted, compelling and will have you flicking through the pages furiously long into the night. A.K. Turner has produced a very well written, researched and entertaining book and I look forward to more in this series.

More Books by A. K. Turner

2014
2022
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2020
2022
2021
2022
2021
2021

Other Books in This Series