• $9.99

Publisher Description

The sixth book in the internationally bestselling Clifton Chronicles from master storyteller Jeffrey Archer

"Archer continues his storytelling magic to create characters of spellbinding substance, and readers can count on his surprising twists and shocking conclusion. Here, just when the end seems too tidy, Archer provides a killer cliffhanger." Publishers Weekly

Cometh the Hour opens with the reading of a suicide note, which has devastating consequences for Harry and Emma Clifton, Giles Barrington and Lady Virginia.

Giles must decide if he should withdraw from politics and try to rescue Karin, the woman he loves, from behind the Iron Curtain... but is Karin who she says she is?

Sebastian Clifton is now the Chief Executive of Farthings Bank but his rivals continue their attempts to supplant him.

Harry Clifton remains determined to get Anatoly Babakov released from a gulag in Siberia, following the international success of his acclaimed book, Uncle Joe. Harry's wife Emma convinces her new friend Margaret Thatcher to raise the subject with the Russian President when she visits Moscow. But then something unexpected happens that none of them could have anticipated.

Cometh the Hour is the penultimate book in the Clifton Chronicles and, like the five previous novels - all of which went to number one on the Sunday Times bestseller list - showcases Jeffrey Archer's extraordinary storytelling with his trademark twists.

The 7th and final book in the Clifton Chronicles series, This Was a Man, will publish in November 2016. Preorder now!

BOOK 1: Only Time Will Tell
BOOK 2: The Sins of the Father
BOOK 3: Best Kept Secret
BOOK 4: Be Careful What You Wish For
BOOK 5: Mightier Than The Sword
BOOK 6: Cometh The Hour

Fiction & Literature
23 February
Pan Macmillan UK
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia

Customer Reviews

Angelgay ,

Cometh The Hour

I have just finished this 6th book in the Clifton Chronicle Series. As with the previous 5 books, I found it riveting and lost quite a few hours of lost sleep, preferring instead to read page after page through the night. The characters keep you enthralled and I wept when Harry delivered his speech at the Nobel Award ceremony.
I was dismayed when I couldn't purchase the 7th and final book as it has not yet been published but fortunately I have to only wait 2 more weeks. Obviously I have pre-ordered so that it gets delivered promptly. Well deserving of being a best seller for Jeffrey Archer.

Trackydaks ,


As always Jeffrey Archer is a great writer. The sixth book in the Clifton Chronicles is just as readable and hard to put down. Can't wait for book number 7.

Luv iPad ,

Meandering rubbish

I've read the series, but it's turning into a soap opera. I struggle to pick this up and read another chapter. Rubbish. Obviously Jeffrey Archer needs the money and is trading on his name.

More Books by Jeffrey Archer

Other Books in This Series