• $3.99

Publisher Description

OMG what an opening. Talk about being hooked… The words ‘OH WOW’ left my mouth when I realized I had finished it!… This is a must read for all crime fans5 massive stars.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


The girl’s eyes were open, her gaze softened with a milky hue. Her perfect skin and halo of blonde hair made her look angelic. It was a brutal contrast to the rope suspending her from the high-vaulted ceiling, and the bruises that had blossomed on her arms. Eleanor reached forward then caught herself. This woman was past saving.


When a beautiful young woman is found murdered in a derelict power station, Detective Inspector Eleanor Raven hurries to the scene. The girl’s body has been ritualistically posed, with cherry-red lipstick painted across her mouth. And when she catches sight of the engagement ring crusted with blood on her delicate finger, Eleanor pushes back on the grief it provokes. Lydia Greystein had so much to live for. The only way Eleanor can help now is to find the killer responsible, and she and her team immediately set to work.


As Eleanor and the team work together to unpick the killer’s motivations, another woman is found, bound and posed in the same ceremonial stance. Suddenly, Eleanor’s case becomes more twisted and urgent than ever. Just when they think they’ve hit a dead end, Eleanor finds a link between the victims and a cold case—an unsolved death with a connection to her own hidden life outside work. To follow the clues now risks bringing her secrets into the open.


But as Eleanor begins to understand the killer, he starts to understand her too.


Eleanor must solve this case before more women are taken. Could the secrets she keeps from those closest to her be the final clue to break open this caseor will they ultimately cost Eleanor her life?


A fast-paced, tense and completely gripping mystery thriller that will keep you hooked until the final page. Karen Long will be the newest favourite crime author for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.


Cry for Mercy was previously published as The Safe Word.


Readers love Cry for Mercy:

“I absolutely loved itOMG what an opening. Talk about being hooked… The words ‘OH WOW’ left my mouth when I realized I had finished it! That’s how much I enjoyed it. This is a must read for all crime fans it ticked all the boxes for me. I highly recommend this book giving it 5 massive stars.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Excellent!!!… Fantastic read!!! Do yourself a favour… read it… NOW!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved, loved, loved this book.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This book had me gripped with suspense from page one. I couldn’t put this book down. Such a perfect serial killer thriller. Fantastically written.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“One of the most gripping books I have read… From the off the action was fast-paced and exciting… I cannot recommend it enough.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I stayed up well into the early hours of the morning to finish this… Just outstanding.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Absolutely brilliant I could not put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Without a doubt, one of the best crime books I have read all year!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Couldn’t put the book down… kept you guessing in the action all the way to the end.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I don’t give out 5-star reviews lightly… I’m so glad I stumbled across this gem.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Unputdownable… Eleanor Raven is an amazing female character.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This book is a one-sitting read. You will think you have it figured out in chapter one but do you? You will be sucked in.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Eleanor Raven is quite easily one of my favourite female characters this year… Gritty, suspenseful and captivating.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Excellent thriller… Eleanor Raven is not your average detective by any stretch of the imagination!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
16 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
348
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Audde ,

Gripping

Such a good read. It starts with a ‘sit up and take notice’ moment, and continues on pulling the reader along. Good characters, good plot. What would makes it 5 stars is to fill in what I feel are a few missing ‘pieces’. For example the fella in the opening, I feel the reader needs to know more about him. Also, I would have liked to know more about the motivation of the perpetrator in the story. Otherwise, a great read. It certainly holds the reader’s interest and gets them invested.

Marns17 ,

A thrilling start to a new series

If this book sounds familiar to you, it was first published under the title The Safe Word, back in 2014. I do like this title better, but it’s new one, Cry For Mercy, still fits in well with the theme of the story. This is the first book in the series, featuring DI Eleanor Raven and it is a ripper!

The first chapter was eye opening and not what I expected at all. It is not everyday you read a book where the main protagonist has a secret life that is so far removed from her day job and it is this, that makes this book a standout for me above other female lead police procedurals.

Eleanor Raven is a very interesting character, but I have to admit that I did struggle to connect with her. I can’t fault the way she has been written and it is only book one, so I am hoping that this will change in future books as I get to know her more. I did enjoy the supporting cast, who play out their roles well.

This is the first book I have read from Karen Long and I enjoyed her style. She was able to draw me in and hold my attention and it’s intriguing storyline with it’s cat and mouse approach, makes for an entertaining read. The subject matter won’t be to everyone’s taste, but it is not too graphic or overdone in any way.

Cry For Mercy is a gripping series opener, that will have you flicking the pages well into the night. It is dark, twisted, well written and will take you on one chilling roller coaster ride! I look forward to seeing where the second instalment will take DI Eleanor Raven next.

More Books by Karen Long

Other Books in This Series