• $0.99

Publisher Description

** Awarded Silver in the 2012 WishingShelfAwards **

Dangerous Waters is the first of The Guernsey Novels, linked but standalone stories, which will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Tragedy seems to follow Jeanne Le Page around . . .

Can she really go through it again and survive?

She is lucky to be alive … at sixteen Jeanne was almost killed in a boating accident which brought heart-breaking family tragedy. Now, fifteen years later, Jeanne returns reluctantly to the island of Guernsey following the death of her beloved grandmother. Struggling for breath as the ferry nears the island; she is overwhelmed by a dark foreboding as hazy memories of that terrible day resurface…

Only returning to sell her inheritance - her grandmother's old cottage - Jeanne has no intention of picking up her old life. But the cottage holds a secret, dating back to World War II and the German Occupation, and Jeanne becomes drawn into discovering more. Then, soon after her arrival, a chance meeting with an old teenage crush leads her to thoughts of love.

Jeanne is forced to face her demons, reliving the tragedy as her lost memory returns.

When the truth is finally revealed, her life is endangered for the second time…
 

Reviews

"The island of Guernsey is so vividly evoked, one feels as if one is walking its byways. An atmospheric and tantalising read." -- Elizabeth Bailey, author of The Gilded Shroud.

"I've never been to Guernsey but I'm determined to go now that I've read this book. It's a book you can settle into and really enjoy, but it's a lot more than chick-lit. There's an intriguing mystery, a finish which had me reading into the early hours of the morning and an insight into what I think of as the back-end of the publishing industry the bit that the reader never sees or even knows exists. It's delivered with a light touch but gives the book real depth. I was impressed. **** -- Bookbag.co.uk
 

Dangerous Waters by Anne Allen is perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and Coastliners by Joanne Harris.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
1 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
372
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sarnia Press
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
476.7
KB

More Books by Anne Allen