• $3.99

Publisher Description

'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly.

Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor...

The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband.

The second time, they accused him of child abuse.

But he died a guilty man.

This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial.

Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead.

And his wife is the suspect.

It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead.

Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty.

Praise for Jane Isaac:

'Move over La Plante' Susan May, Suspense Magazine.

'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon.

'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment.

'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series.

'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown.

'Gripped from the very first page... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet.

'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
19 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
300
Pages
PUBLISHER
Head of Zeus
SELLER
Head of Zeus
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A great addition to this fantastic series

For Better, For Worse, is the second instalment and a fantastic addition to the DC Beth Chamberlain series. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and everything that Jane brought to it. With a prologue that sets the tone of the story up really well, Jane wastes no time in getting things going, which she does so in spectacular fashion. It is a fast-paced read, that you will have trouble tearing yourself away from.

Disgraced ex-local councillor Stuart Ingram, is run down and killed just two weeks out from his trial to clear name in child abuse allegations. The main suspect is his wife Gina, but when a second man turns up dead it becomes clear that something more sinister is at work and Beth and the team have their work cut out for them in finding out what connects these men and catch the killer before they strike again,

It was really great to catch up with Beth again. Right at the forefront of this investigation, she once again shows her strong work ethic and how she will not rest until the killer is brought to justice. Jane has really brought her to life so beautifully and she really is a character that you can relate to. She is imperfectly perfect and she is a real joy to read. She definitely steals the show in this series.

Through writing that is both engaging and fluid, Jane captures the reader’s attention right from the beginning. Her ability to build the tension throughout is second to none and on multiple occasions, I was holding my breath racing through the pages to see how it was all going to unfold. For Better For Worse is a dark tale that deals with tough issues but is very well handled in Janes’s hands.

For Better For Worse ticks all the boxes in what makes a great crime thriller. Jane really is an asset to this genre and I can’t wait to see what she has in store for Beth next. Going by the ending for this book it is going to be a wild ride! It was an absolute pleasure to read and review For Better For Worse which I highly recommend.

Thank you to NetGalley, Aria Fiction and Jane Isaac for allowing me to read an advanced copy of For Better For Worse which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

More Books by Jane Isaac

Other Books in This Series