If My Words Had Wings If My Words Had Wings

If My Words Had Wings

    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

A life affirming story of rehabilitation and hope after prison. The third novel from multi-award-winning Danielle Jawando, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Elizabeth Acevedo.
 
‘Jawando’s writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed’ Alice Oseman, author of the Heartstopper series
 
When fifteen-year-old Tyrell Forrester gets caught up in a high-profile armed robbery, he's sentenced to eighteen months in a young offenders’ prison. Now he’s getting out, and he’s determined to turn his life around. Despite his release, systemic discrimination makes it difficult for Ty to truly be free. Inspired by a visiting poet while inside, Ty discovers a whole new world through spoken word and is finally finding his voice. But will society ever see him as anything other than a criminal?

Praise for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly:

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence, author of Orangeboy

'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle, author of Crongton Knights

‘An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!’ Melvin Burgess, author of Junk

Praise for When Our Worlds Collided:
 
'A raw, unflinching and powerful story that will stay with me for a long time’ Manjeet Mann, author of The Crossing
 
‘A beautiful ode to found family, and a compassionate look at the power of connection borne from the ashes of tragedy and apathy’ Christina Hammonds Reed, author of The Black Kids
 
‘Hard-hitting yet still hopeful, this is an emotional powerhouse of a book’ Alexandra Sheppard, author of Oh My Gods

Warning - this novel contains themes that some readers may find upsetting, including suicide and self harm.

GENRE
Young Adults
RELEASED
2024
9 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster UK
SELLER
Simon and Schuster Australia Pty Ltd.
SIZE
6.4
MB

More Books by Danielle Jawando

When Our Worlds Collided When Our Worlds Collided
2022
And the Stars Were Burning Brightly And the Stars Were Burning Brightly
2020
A gwiazdy niech płoną A gwiazdy niech płoną
2021