Lies to Tell

An utterly gripping Scottish crime thriller

    • 4.3 • 141 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…

Early one morning DI Clare Mackay receives a message from her boss DCI Alastair Gibson telling her to meet him in secret. She does as he asks and is taken from St Andrews to a secure location in the remote Scottish hills. There, she is introduced to ethical hacker Gayle Crichton and told about a critical security breach coming from inside Police Scotland. Clare is sworn to secrecy and must conceal Gayle’s identity from colleagues until the source is found.

Clare already has her hands full keeping a key witness under protection and investigating the murder of a university student. When a friend of the victim is found preparing to jump off the Tay Road Bridge it is clear he is terrified of someone. But who? Clare realises too late that she has trusted the wrong person. As her misplaced faith proves a danger to herself and others, Clare must fight tooth and nail to protect those she cares about and see justice done.

A page-turning crime thriller perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. K. Hood and Rachel Amphlett.

What readers are saying about Lies to Tell


One of Scotland's top up-and-coming crime writersThe Scottish Sun

'DI Clare Mackay is a brilliant character. I’m looking forward to more from Marion Todd’ Graeme Hampton, author of The Darkness Within

‘With Lies To Tell, Marion Todd is, or should be, firmly in the company of premier league crime fiction writers. Long may the series continue.’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Marion Todd has delivered an excellent third novel in her DI Clare MacKay series… the ending resolutions are completely satisfying and leave the reader frustrated only with how long they have to wait for the next book in the series… A top-notch book’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘With so many twists and turns the story romps along at a breathless pace, who can she trust? A brilliant thriller, and an ending I didn’t see coming.’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘With its polished pacing and plotting, I found this to be a thoroughly enjoyable, original and difficult to put down novel from Marion Todd. She is a gifted storyteller who can provide readers with thrills, sophistication and a story packed with substance. A very highly recommended five star read’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Over the last three books, Marion has nurtured Clare into someone of real substance and she has become one of my all time favourite female lead characters.’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘Could not put this book down at all… this one has to be Marion Todd’s best book to date, a police procedural with non stop action, twists and so many suspects that I was reeling with what was going to happen next’ Reader review ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

A book that you just can’t fault … a real not to be missed read’ Reader review⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
25 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
376
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

Brilliant

To say that I was excited when I heard that Marion was releasing the third book in the Detective Clare MacKay series this year, was a massive understatement! Having only just released book 2 In Plain Sight in February, it was like all of my Christmases had come at once. If you are a regular reader of my blog, then you know just how much I love this outstanding series.

It was great to be transported back to St Andrews and into Clare’s world, where the reader is taken along for another wild ride. Clare definitely has her hands full in this latest instalment but there is no one better than her to take it all on board. With it’s strong storyline and thrilling plot twists, Lies to Tell is a brilliant addition to this series. Whilst it can be read as a standalone, I will always say that I don’t recommend you reading this without having read the other two books. This is not because you won’t be able to follow along, but is because you will be missing out on another two fantastic reads. Trust me on this!

Over the last three books, Marion has nurtured Clare into someone of real substance and she has become one of my all time favourite female lead characters. Although not without flaws, this just adds to her appeal and she really is someone that you can relate to. I really enjoyed how Marion showed us more from her personal life this time around, which enhanced the story even more and does leave the book on quite a cliffhanger and a conundrum for Clare. I know which direction I would like this to go in…

The recurring secondary characters of Chris, Sara and Diane are once again such assets to this series and really do work well with Clare. I love the working relationship between Clare and Chris and the banter they share which makes for some lighthearted moments. This instalment also sees the return of DCI Al Gibson who we were introduced to in book one, as he enlists Clare to be part of a secret mission. More mellower this time around, I really enjoyed this change in his character which made him more of a pleasure to read.

I love Marion’s style and how she is able to make me forget everything whilst reading her work. Her writing is so engaging, she makes you feel you are part of the story. Her extremely well researched plots, great characterisation and how she injects each story with the right amount of tension, suspense with thrilling twists and turns, always makes for edge of your seat exciting reads and I can’t get enough! I am so excited that it has been announced that there will be a further three books in this series and I can’t wait to see what direction Marion will take it in next.

Marion really does put her heart and soul into these books which makes it one the best crime thriller series out there and is also what makes her such an amazing talent! I am so thrilled to have been introduced to her work and I will always be the first in line to read the latest release while applauding her from afar. Once again it was my absolute pleasure to read and review another brilliant instalment in this outstanding series and it is one that I can’t recommend highly enough.

Thank you to NetGalley, Canelo and Marion Todd for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Lies To Tell which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

More Books by Marion Todd

2019
2020
2022
2021
2021
2023

Other Books in This Series

2021
2021
2022
2023
2019
2020