• $3.99

Publisher Description

THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS PUTTING THIS BOOK DOWN!!!!!... I was literally holding my breathI HAD TO KNOW!!!!! As for the explosive ending WOW definitely not what or who I was expecting.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


She looked at the smiling, eager face of the little girl in the photograph, with dark hair, bright-green eyes, a missing front tooth, and her entire life ahead of her. Chelsea was last seen walking back from a friend’s house one summer afternoon. She never made it home…


An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California and for Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp twenty years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.


But as Katie starts to investigate – her PTSD flashbacks kept at bay with the help of her loyal ex-military dog, Cisco – the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Deep in the forest, she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly coloured teddy bear.


Tracing the silk lining the coffins, Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls – finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.


And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home…


Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.


What readers are saying about Little Girls Sleeping:

I was really wowed by itI couldn’t put the book down and was trying to read as fast as I could so I could find out who the killer was. The ending took me by surpriseI was literally gasping for air… I would definitely recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Wow what an absolutely amazing fantastic read. I was hooked almost as soon as I started this book. I am still trying to pick my chin off the floor. I loved it from page one and couldn’t read the pages quick enough. I did not see the end coming… Awesome.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


If you read one police thriller this year make sure that it is this one… it will grip you from the start and will drag you into the story trying desperately to work out who the killer is but I promise you that you will not be able to figure it out. Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A great way to start a new series! It's a wonderfully written roller-coaster ride. A must read! Book Obsessed Introverts, 5 stars


Believe me when I say that you are in for a thrilling read!... I could not put it away. Can highly recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Wow!... The hairs on my head stood up with this one!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


A nail-biting thrillerI was gripped from page one, through each twist and turn… until I reached the climax which was shocking and totally unexpected.’ Netgalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘It was addicting, captivating and had me reading into the night.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Truly an amazing book. The storyline flowed, the characters were engaging, and I could barely tear myself away... Highly recommended!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I read it in one sitting and could not put it down. A real page turner.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
31 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
338
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
6.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A brilliant start to a new series

Having returned home from a tour of Afghanistan with the K-9 unit, Katie Scott plans to take some time out from her previous role as a police officer with the Sacramento PD, to doing administrative work for the Pine Valley police department where her uncle is the sheriff.

When in his office, she comes across a file from a cold case where a little girl named Chelsea Compton was kidnapped four years previously, and whose body was never found.

Still haunted by the memory of the mysterious disappearance of a friend at summer camp 20 years ago, Katie takes matters into her own hands and she secretly starts investigating Chelsea’s case with Cisco, her beloved german shepherd who she worked with in Afghanistan.

When she stumbles upon multiple graves, the case is blown wide open to other unsolved cases of missing girls with a calling card of a teddy bear on each of these graves. It is then that she realises there is a serial killer at large, and one of the worst kind imaginable.

With part of the mystery solved, a major part of the puzzle still remains, and it is then that the sheriff promotes his niece to detective so she can continue to work on the investigation.

But being a relation of the town sheriff does not win Katie any friends and she ruffles some feathers, especially with the detective who was assigned to the case at the time.

The race is then on, when another little girl goes missing to solve this case. Time is running out, but the closer that Katie gets to solving the case, the more her life is in danger.

Do I recommend this book:

Hell yes!

I absolutely loved this book and Katie’s character. It is never easy to read a book like this when the victims are children, but Jennifer does a great job and is sensitive with the subject matter without describing the deaths in too much graphic detail.

I really enjoyed Jennifer’s writing style and felt the determination of Katie in her need to solve the case no matter what. Even at the risk of her own life.

This is a fantastic debut for this series and I look forward to many more books to come.

Thank-you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Jennifer Chase for allowing me to read an advance copy of Little Girls Sleeping in exchange for an honest review.

All opinions are my own and are not biased in any way.

More Books by Jennifer Chase

Other Books in This Series