• $11.99

Publisher Description

THE NUMBER ONE EBOOK BESTSELLER

'Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.' Stephen King

'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail

*****



Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . .

Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.
But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.
From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

*****

Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:
'Ingenious' Sunday Times

'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail

'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror

'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
6 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orion
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
3.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Dolfinbuddy ,

Magpie Murders

A long book, but I only put it down to eat or sleep. I did not know who the protagonist was until the last few chapters.

Nina Ventrue ,

Liked both stories, but needed flow

I enjoyed both the stories in the book, but the enormous gap between Atticus Punds revelation that he knew who the murder was and the end of the book made me less invested in the resolution. Clever idea, but threw me. Not the way my brain works

rdtl ,

Tedious

Not the first time this author has played around with the idea of books within books or the writer as a character. It’s like he’s bored with fiction and, having had enough success to afford some risk, wants to play around with supposedly cutting edge formats.
It will some people but in my view the writing just isn’t strong enough. It’s clumsy and sometimes casually racist and sexist - maybe he’s just showing his age?

More Books by Anthony Horowitz

2011
2017
2020
2018
2015
2014