• $9.99

Publisher Description

The fifth book in the internationally bestselling Clifton Chronicles from master storyteller Jeffrey Archer

"The conclusion's a turbo-charged cliffhanger" Kirkus Reviews

Mightier than the Sword opens with an IRA bomb exploding during the MV Buckingham's maiden voyage across the Atlantic - but how many passengers lose their lives?

When Harry Clifton visits his publisher in New York, he learns that he has been elected as the new president of English PEN, and immediately launches a campaign for the release of a fellow author, Anatoly Babakov, who's imprisoned in Siberia. Babakov's crime? Writing a book called Uncle Joe, a devastating insight into what it was like to work for Stalin. So determined is Harry to see Babakov released and the book published, that he puts his own life in danger.

His wife Emma, chairman of Barrington Shipping, is facing the repercussions of the IRA attack on the Buckingham. Some board members feel she should resign, and Lady Virginia Fenwick will stop at nothing to cause Emma's downfall.

Sir Giles Barrington is now a minister of the Crown, and looks set for even higher office, until an official trip to Berlin does not end as a diplomatic success. Once again, Giles's political career is thrown off balance by none other than his old adversary, Major Alex Fisher, who once again stands against him at the election. But who wins this time?

In London, Harry and Emma's son, Sebastian, is quickly making a name for himself at Farthing's Bank in London, and has proposed to the beautiful young American, Samantha. But the despicable Adrian Sloane, a man interested only in his own advancement and the ruin of Sebastian, will stop at nothing to remove his rival.

Jeffrey Archer's compelling Clifton Chronicles continue in this, his most accomplished novel to date. With all the trademark twists and turns that have made him one of the world's most popular authors, the spellbinding story of the Clifton and the Barrington families continues.

BOOK 1: Only Time Will Tell
BOOK 2: The Sins of the Father
BOOK 3: Best Kept Secret
BOOK 4: Be Careful What You Wish For
BOOK 5: Mightier Than The Sword
BOOK 6: Cometh The Hour

Fiction & Literature
1 March
Pan Macmillan UK
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia

Customer Reviews

Floss. ,

Great book

Thoroughly enjoyed the book but a bit disappointing that I have to wait till 2016 to finish it.

Trackydaks ,


As always, Jeffrey Archer's book is phenomenal. I could not put it down - can't wait for the 6th instalment. Mr Archer's books never ever disappoint.

Watto-Aust ,

Mightier Than The Sword: The Clifton Chronicles 5

Having just finished this book I feel at a total loss to have to wait till February 2016 for the next in the series.
Archer's story telling is superb in Chronicles. I have read all five now in almost succession and been unable to put them down.
The personal dramas, tragedies and triumphs of the people inhabiting these pages will touch you dearly. I say "people who inhabit" on purpose as they are all more than just characters on a page.
Archer has introduced me to the lives of some wonderful people who I hope to being following through many more books.

More Books by Jeffrey Archer

Other Books in This Series