• $19.99

Publisher Description

A shoe-in read for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, On Borrowed Crime is the first in Kate Young's new Georgia-set, sweet tea filled, Jane Doe Book Club mysteries.

The Jane Doe book club enjoys guessing whodunit, but when murder happens in their midst, they discover solving crimes isn't fun and games...

Lyla Moody loves her sleepy little town of Sweet Mountain, Georgia. She likes her job as receptionist for her uncle's private investigative firm, her fellow true crime obsessed Jane Doe members are the friends she's always wanted, and her parents just celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary. But recently, with her best friend Melanie on vacation, and her ex-boyfriend and horrible cousin becoming an item and moving in next door to her, her idyllic life is on the fritz. The cherry on top of it all is finding Carol, a member of the club, dead and shoved into a suitcase, left at Lyla's front door.

Unusual circumstances notwithstanding, with Carol's heart condition, the coroner rules Carol's death undetermined. But when they discover the suitcase belongs to Melanie, who had returned from her vacation the following morning, Sweet Mountain police begin to suspect Lyla's best friend. Determined that police are following the wrong trail, to clear her friend's name, and to not allow Carol become one of the club's studied cold cases, Lyla begins to seek out the real killer. That is, until she becomes the one sought after. Now, finding the truth could turn her into the killer's next plot twist, unless she wins the game of cat and mouse.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
6 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Random House, LLC
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A great start to a new cozy mystery series

On Borrowed Crime is the first instalment in the Jane Doe Book Club Mystery series and is a super fun read. It is fresh, quirky, charming and If you are looking for a new cozy mystery to sink your teeth into, then I recommend you adding this one to your reading list.

Kate Young has put together a well plotted mystery, that caught my attention immediately. The story plays out a bit more darker than a traditional cozy mystery, but still has all the other elements that make this genre so much fun to read. I enjoyed how there are red herring’s that are peppered throughout along the way, which leads the reader away from the real culprit, making for a surprise reveal.

The cast of characters are colourful and they shine through the pages. I loved Layla and she made for a really great lead. She is a sassy southerner who I could completely relate to and I look forward to reading more about her. The supporting cast play out their roles well and each add their own personality to the story.

I liked the setting of Sweet Mountain Georgia which Kate Young brings to life beautifully. The incorporation of a true crime obsessed book club (The Jane Doe Book Club – Brilliant name!) is a great touch and Layla’s employment as a receptionist at her uncle’s PI business, paves the way for her to become embroiled in the case, as a budding PI herself, but more so as the deceased is a friend of hers.

A new author to me, Kate Young has a very easy style and I found her writing to be very fluid and engaging. The story flows well, moves at a steady pace and kept me wanting to flick the pages. The series has a lot of potential and I look forward to seeing its development in future books.

More Books by Kate Young