One Illumined Thread One Illumined Thread

One Illumined Thread

The stunning debut historical novel for fans of Geraldine Brooks and Pip Williams

    • 4.1 • 22 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

A beautiful, enthralling and powerful story of three women separated by centuries, yet connected by a thread of longing and a singular creative spirit - for readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Winman, Maggie O'Farrell and Pip Williams.

In Judea, under the brutal rule of King Herod, a woman yearns for a child but is outcast when she does not fall pregnant. Against all convention, she masters the art of glassblowing, a creative act she believes will keep her dream of motherhood alive. In Renaissance Florence, a young wife is left penniless by her hopelessly unfaithful husband, and struggles to find a way to support herself and her young son. And in contemporary Australia, a talented textile conservator, devastated by loss, is desperate to regain control of her life. Each woman wants something that seems unattainable, and it will take all their courage, creativity and determination to achieve it.

A stunning, sweeping historical novel spanning two thousand years, One Illumined Thread celebrates the power and creative spirit of the female heart, as each woman finds freedom through an extraordinary connection.

'A dazzling story of the intimacy between women. There is wisdom, beauty and hope in this yearning song to motherhood sought, granted, lost and denied - a remarkable novel.' Suzanne Leal

'Fans of Sarah Winman and Pip Williams will love Sally Colin-James's debut novel One Illumined Thread, an intriguing story of three women separated by centuries yet inextricably connected by their quests for self-realisation ... The author's detailed exploration of each character's creative world is extraordinary. But more striking is how the reader is moved to think, feel and ultimately cheer for the creative spirit of the female heart and its incomparable ability to illuminate the world despite extreme obstacles. One Illumined Thread is one of those rare books that will stay with you. The historical depth and authentic character development keep your mind (and heart) immersed long after that last page has been read.' Books+Publishing

'Crafted masterfully ... This is a story of love - both its presence and absence - but above all, it gives agency to its female protagonists. Extensively researched, expertly written.' Good Reading

'So alive and brimming with story, One Illumined Thread held me captive from the start. An exquisite interweaving of history and herstory ... a compulsively good read.' Lyn Hughes, author of Mr Carver's Whale

'A gorgeously evocative, beautifully wrought story that weaves across time, connecting and illuminating the experience of creative women throughout history.' Kayte Nunn, author of The Silk House

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
1 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
5.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Mihc71 ,

A good read

I was surprised I enjoyed it as much as I did. Although the 2018 storyline was weak and didn’t match with the rest of the book. The other timelines could have gone longer. I was disappointed the last 300 pages were all author notes.

Georgieflowers ,

One Illumined Thread

I was fascinated and entranced by this novel. It grabbed me and transported me to the three time periods and their respective locations immediately.
A very good read…

More Books Like This

The Mistress Of Spices The Mistress Of Spices
2010
Drawing In the Dust Drawing In the Dust
2009
The Painter's Apprentice The Painter's Apprentice
2017
City of Ruin City of Ruin
2022
The Woman in the White Kimono The Woman in the White Kimono
2019
Little Eve Little Eve
2018

Customers Also Bought

The House of Fortune The House of Fortune
2022
The Winter Dress The Winter Dress
2022
The Collected Regrets of Clover The Collected Regrets of Clover
2023
Return to Valetto Return to Valetto
2023
Gulliver's Wife Gulliver's Wife
2020
At The Foot Of The Cherry Tree At The Foot Of The Cherry Tree
2023