• $12.99

Publisher Description

The gods of poetry and death descend on a house in India to vie for the soul of a wounded monkey. A bargain is struck: the monkey must tell a story, and if he can keep his audience entertained, he shall live. The result is Red Earth and Pouring Rain, Vikram Chandra's astonishing, vibrant novel. Interweaving tales of nineteenth-century India with modern America, it stands in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights, a work of vivid imagination and a celebration of the power of storytelling itself.

'A dazzling first novel written with such originality and intensity as to be not merely drawing on myth but making it.' Sunday Times

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
7 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
624
Pages
PUBLISHER
Faber & Faber
SELLER
Faber and Faber Limited
SIZE
1.6
MB

More Books by Vikram Chandra