• $12.99

Publisher Description

The nineteenth book in the Kay Scarpetta series, from No. 1 bestselling author Patricia Cornwell.

'America's most chilling writer of crime fiction' The Times

Kay Scarpetta has arranged to meet an inmate at the high-security Georgia Prison for Women. The prisoner is a convicted sex offender and the mother of a vicious and diabolically brilliant killer.

Against advice, Scarpetta is determined to hear this woman out - she believes she may hold some answers to the murder of her former deputy. But soon she finds connections to a string of grisly killings, including the slaughter of a Savannah family years earlier. She can see a pattern to these killings, but who is behind them and why?

As she learns more, Scarpetta is compelled to conclude that this is only the beginning of something far more destructive: a terrifying terrain of conspiracy and potential terrorism on an international scale. And she is the only one who can stop it...

Crime & Thrillers
26 November
Little, Brown Book Group
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd

Customer Reviews

Joytrev ,

good read

Not one of the best, but ok.

jjf936 ,

Red Mist

Much better than the last few Scarpetta novels. This one has a good story line that you can get involved in; Kay is still a bit too self absorbed to be truly likable, however the support characters and the setting improve the overall story. I will keep reading hoping for the "meaty" earlier style of story.

Dakota1988 ,

1st time reader of Cornwell

Although I have only read the first chapter I am beginning to really dislike the protagonist Kay. The character speaks highly of herself and is constantly reminding readers how important and upper-class she is. It's like listening to someone brag, brag, brag!! However should Cornwell write in third person rather than first readers, such as myself, could tolerate the character's ego. But then again Cornwell is American writing for an American audience who are infamous for their egotistic disposition. I'm sorry but it's kinda true.

More Books by Patricia Cornwell

Other Books in This Series