• $9.99

Publisher Description

The first book in the Shadowfell trilogy from the acclaimed author of the Sevenwaters series

"An exquisitely written tale of love, fear, faith and difficult choices ... Marillier is a consummate craftswoman." Sydney Morning Herald

The people of Alban are afraid.

The tyrannical king and his masked Enforcers are scouring the land, burning villages and enslaving the canny.
Fifteen-year-old Neryn has fled her home in the wake of its destruction, and is alone and penniless, hiding her extraordinary magical power. She can rely on no one - not even the elusive Good Folk who challenge and bewilder her with their words.

When an enigmatic stranger saves her life, Neryn and the young man called Flint begin an uneasy journey together. She wants to trust Flint but how can she tell who is true in this land of evil?

For Neryn has heard whisper of a mysterious place far away: a place where rebels are amassing to free the land and end the King's reign.

A place called Shadowfell.

A story of courage, hope, danger and love from one of the most compelling fantasy storytellers writing today.

"A new book by Juliet Marillier is always a cause for celebration" Kate Forsyth

Winner of the Tin Duck Award for Speculative Fiction

Finalist in the Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2012
1 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
360
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan Australia
SELLER
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia
SIZE
4.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Elliviahn ,

Memorable read.

Loved the story from start to finish! Couldn't put it down! But that is pretty normal for Juliet Marillier's books. Haven't read one that hasn't drawn me in and held me for ransom yet! 👌❤️

TwinkleSays ,

NO WORDS :) but...

I have to express my feelings for this book. It was perfect 💙 the writing was so effective that I felt as If i was on this journey with Neryn :) taught me a lesson:- any goal can be achieved with courage and will power- no matter how rough! The characters were sooo beautiful ❤️ I couldn't stop reading it ! And I cried twice in the last chapter ... Could feel every feeling expressed in the book and at the end ... Omg extreme happiness, hope, sadness to leave but promise to meet again 💖💚❤️ ...
Soo beautiful :) keep writing!

Watto65 ,

Alban

I was hooked into the world of Alban and will now read the next two parts.

More Books by Juliet Marillier

Other Books in This Series