Sisters of Freedom

    • 3.9 • 18 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

'Rich, transportive historical fiction with empowering, female characters ... meticulously researched, thought-provoking and utterly compelling.' - Better Reading

Sydney, Christmas, 1901. Federation has been achieved but Australian women are yet to gain the right to vote in their new nation's elections and have a say in the laws that govern them.

Bolshy, boisterous Frankie Merriweather is a fervent advocate for women's rights, determined to dedicate herself to the cause, never marrying or becoming a mother. She can't understand her artistic sister Ivy, who wants a life of ease and beauty with her soon-to-be fiance, law student Patrick Earle.

Meanwhile, their married sister Aggie volunteers in an orphanage, decrying the inequality of Australia's social classes ... and longing to hold a baby in her arms.

When an accident takes Ivy, wounded and ill, into the violent and lawless zone of the Hawkesbury River, a year of change begins. Ivy's burgeoning friendship with her saviour Riley Logan, a smuggler, and his sister, the poverty-stricken but valiant Fiona, will alter the lives of all three women forever.

A passionate tale of three sisters as they strive for freedom and independence and follow their hearts to unexpected places, from a master storyteller. For readers of Fiona McIntosh, Nicole Alexander and Natasha Lester.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
1 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Fiction
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books Like This

2023
2022
2018
2017
2015
2017

More Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

2019
2022
2020
2016
2015
2017