Sisters of Freedom

    • 3.9 • 17 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

'Rich, transportive historical fiction with empowering, female characters ... meticulously researched, thought-provoking and utterly compelling.' - Better Reading

Sydney, Christmas, 1901. Federation has been achieved but Australian women are yet to gain the right to vote in their new nation's elections and have a say in the laws that govern them.

Bolshy, boisterous Frankie Merriweather is a fervent advocate for women's rights, determined to dedicate herself to the cause, never marrying or becoming a mother. She can't understand her artistic sister Ivy, who wants a life of ease and beauty with her soon-to-be fiance, law student Patrick Earle.

Meanwhile, their married sister Aggie volunteers in an orphanage, decrying the inequality of Australia's social classes ... and longing to hold a baby in her arms.

When an accident takes Ivy, wounded and ill, into the violent and lawless zone of the Hawkesbury River, a year of change begins. Ivy's burgeoning friendship with her saviour Riley Logan, a smuggler, and his sister, the poverty-stricken but valiant Fiona, will alter the lives of all three women forever.

A passionate tale of three sisters as they strive for freedom and independence and follow their hearts to unexpected places, from a master storyteller. For readers of Fiona McIntosh, Nicole Alexander and Natasha Lester.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
1 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Fiction
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books by Mary-Anne O'Connor

2019
2016
2022
2020
2015
2017

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2020
2019
2019
2018