• $9.99

Publisher Description

‘The Circle meets Black Mirror in a thrilling, plausible and gripping debut. Frighteningly inventive.’ John Marrs, bestselling author of The One

‘Wow wow wow! What a story that was!… An unputdownable thriller… Absolutely brilliant read that had me on the edge of my seat!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Don’t close your eyes. Don’t fall asleep. Don’t let them in.

Thea is an insomniac; she hasn’t slept more than three hours a night for years.

So when an ad for a sleep trial that promises to change her life pops up on her phone, Thea knows this is her last chance at finding any kind of normal life.

Soon Thea’s sleeping for longer than she has in a decade, and awakes feeling transformed. So much so that at first she’s willing to overlook the oddities of the trial – the lack of any phone signal; the way she can’t leave her bedroom without permission; the fact that all her personal possessions are locked away, even her shoes.

But it soon becomes clear that the trial doesn’t just want to help Thea sleep. It wants to control her sleep…

An unputdownable, gripping psychological thriller for fans of The One, Behind Her Eyes and Girl A!

Readers LOVE Sleepless!

‘This book is INSANE… Just could not put the book down.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Twisty and tantalizing. It made me sleepless all night until I finished it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Hooks you in from the opening chapter… A novel of breathtaking pace that keeps readers on the edge of their seats.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘This book was so good. From the beginning I was engrossed… I wanted more. A fantastic read.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Kept me up half the night while I raced through the pages… If you like John Marrs, you'll love this.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Inventive, thrilling, believable, exceptional and well written… I couldn't put this book down with the result that I probably slept less than ever but it was worth it. Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘Start this one early… it is very difficult to put down… Fantastic storyline, loads of tension and brilliant characters.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Reviews

‘An original and action-packed thriller, with a perfectly unnerving premise that hooked me from the start.’ Philippa East, author of Little White Lies

‘A complex, clever novel with memorable characters and a dash of sci-fi. A truly gripping rollercoaster ride through a dark, dystopian land.’ Vikki Patis, author of Girl, Lost

'A tense, unsettling psychological thriller that’ll leave you wondering if there’s something more behind your own sleepless nights!' Karin Nordin, author of Where Ravens Roost

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
10 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

A great debut

Thea, who suffers from insomnia, signs up to participate in a sleep trial after she is involved in a car accident. But this isn’t just any sleep trial and it soon becomes clear to Thea, that this is not a trial to help her sleep, but is one that wants to control her sleep…

When I was offered the chance to read Sleepless, I was immediately drawn to the title as I can relate to this, so I was very interested to see Louise Mumford’s take on sleeplessness. What I got though, was a story so much more than what I and Thea and bargained for!

The plot is original, fresh, well written and researched and really gets under your skin. I was still thinking about this book weeks after I had finished reading it. It just consumes you and you will have a sleepless night racing through the pages to see how it will all unfold!

Thea is an interesting character who I could definitely relate to, although now that I have read this, I will not be participating in any sleep trials in the present or in the future thank you very much! I also absolutely loved Vivian, Thea’s mother, who is a standout and is a big part of what makes this book great.

Sleepless is clever, complex, twisty, unique and a very compelling story. As a debut novel, Louise Mumford has nailed it and I will be interested in reading more of her work going forward. It was a pleasure to read and review Sleepless, which I recommend.