Book 2 - Detective Kate Miles

Taken

The explosive gripping action packed new novel from the award winning author of The Torrent, for fans of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Dervla McTiernan

    • 4.1 • 37 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

'Dinuka McKenzie has talent to burn' Dervla McTiernan

A parent's worst nightmare. A case that's too close to home. The tense, must-read new Detective Kate Miles novel from the award-winning author of The Torrent.

'I was in the shower. I left Sienna in her bassinet ... When I got out ... She was gone.'

Detective Sergeant Kate Miles is back from maternity leave and struggling on multiple fronts - the pressures of a second child, financial strain from her husband losing his job, and a corruption scandal that may involve her father.

When an infant goes missing, Kate finds herself fronting a high-profile and emotionally fraught case. Was baby Sienna removed from her bassinet by an unknown abductor or is the answer much closer to home?

Amidst a frenzied media demanding answers, and a station chief looking for any reason to remove her from the investigation, Kate is pushed to her limits, pulled between the competing demands of the family at the centre of the case and her own spiralling personal life.

Praise for Taken:

'A dark domestic rural mystery written by a born storyteller. More please.' Michael Robotham

'Taken is a masterclass in crimes that are too close to home, and I'm so pleased to see Detective Sergeant Kate Miles return. Prepare yourself for another fast-paced thrill-ride with heart.' Hayley Scrivenor

'Thrilling, yes. Action-packed, absolutely. Most importantly, though, utterly moving. I don't think I've ever felt as connected to a character as I am to Kate Miles, who is now, I'm happy to say, my favourite fictional detective. Dinuka McKenzie will have you feverishly turning pages, mark my words.' Ben Hobson

'A brilliant follow-up to The Torrent, this book should be top of your reading list for 2023. McKenzie takes readers into a dark, labyrinthine maze of secrets and lies: everyone seems to be guilty of something, but does it mean they're criminals? This intense, twisty mystery will have you hooked from the start.' Katherine Kovacic

Praise for The Torrent:

'Such a good read' Val McDermid

'Vivid, pacy and refreshingly original. A gripping whodunnit with heart.' Emma Viskic

'Brings a fresh perspective to the crime genre ... This gripping debut will keep you turning the pages late into the night.' Petronella McGovern

'A realistic, character-driven policier that holds a mirror to contemporary tensions in rural Australian life and builds expertly from slow burn to adrenaline-fuelled climax' The Age

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2023
1 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
3.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Leggy from Down Under ,

Well written

“The Torrent” I really enjoyed & likewise this suspense crime/ drama/ thriller. The story was well spread out & maintained a flow to the last unwinding pages & conclusion. Nothing like a down trodden female police officer to win the day. I look forward to her next novel.

Eila JA ,

A baby is taken—a detective, and new mother is on the case

A brilliant read about—as in Dinuka’s words—a female detective managing a new baby, tired husband and growing toddle and a missing persons case. What could go wrong. A fantastic premise and an even better read. 😍

More Books Like This

2014
2013
2019
2017
2021
2014

More Books by Dinuka McKenzie

2024
2022

Other Books in This Series

2024
2022