The Cottage by the Loch The Cottage by the Loch

The Cottage by the Loch

A totally gripping and unforgettable Scottish romance

    • 4.2 • 189 Ratings

Publisher Description

The cottage stood alone on a rocky outcropping at the edge of the loch. Standing in the garden amongst the wildflowers, she felt the weight of the tattered envelope in her hands. Maybe there was something keeping her here in Scotland, a secret waiting to be uncovered…



New Yorker Zelda Hicks has just lost her mother, and the only thing she knows about her father is that he was from Scotland. So a work trip to the Scottish village of Loch Cameron couldn’t be better timed. Maybe a break in the beautiful rolling hills of heather will help her reconnect with her roots and recover from her grief.


Then, on a walk around the loch one bright morning, she comes across a tiny, tumbledown cottage, nestled on the edge of the forest. The elderly owner, Gretchen Ross, invites her in for buttery shortbread, and after learning that Gretchen might lose the cottage that has been in her family forever, Zelda vows to help her. She didn’t bargain on butting heads with the handsome, blue-eyed laird Hal Cameron in the process. Zelda can’t seem to forget Hal’s shy smile and she soon learns they might have more in common than she first thought.   


But when Zelda discovers a bundle of old letters hidden in the back of an antique wardrobe at the cottage, they lead her back to the mysterious Hal. Pushing Zelda to examine her own family history, the letters reveal a secret that the community has kept hidden for over a generation. Hal says he wants to help Zelda, but just as she begins to open up, she learns he isn’t being entirely honest either… Can Zelda trust him, and finally come to terms with her own past, or will uncovering this secret force her to leave Loch Cameron for good?


Fans of Susanne O’Leary, Debbie Macomber and Pamela Kelley will adore this page-turning read set in the Scottish Highlands about family secrets and starting over, from USA Today bestselling author Kennedy Kerr.



Readers love The Cottage by the Loch:


Absolutely beautiful and perfect!! Completely swept me away… Compelling and addictive, heart-lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night… Absolutely fantastic!’ Bookworm86, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


‘I loved this book. Read it in a night. Brilliant… A must-read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Swept me away. I was hooked from the beginning to the end, only putting it down when I had to go out or sleep. You need to read it to find out!’ @karen_loves_reading, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


All the feels… Completely pulls you in… A wonderful escape. I absolutely loved this… The plot twists and turns kept me completely engrossed… Will stay in your heart for a long time.’ Page Turners Blog, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


What a delight. I was totally transported to the wind-swept shores… Full of fabulous surprises, I cannot praise it enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I absolutely adored this heart-touching, uplifting story… I was totally charmed. StunningSwept me away. Pulled me in so quickly… Pure delightful escapism… I loved this story.’ Cindy L Spear, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Beautiful… Loved this book. Everything about it was perfect. Just the sort you can really lose yourself in… Brilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2024
18 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
378
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3
MB

More Books Like This

The Year of Taking Chances The Year of Taking Chances
2015
The Hourglass The Hourglass
2017
Rumours Rumours
2012
Summer at 23 the Strand Summer at 23 the Strand
2018
A Hundred Pieces of Me A Hundred Pieces of Me
2014
Sunrise by the Sea Sunrise by the Sea
2021

Customers Also Bought

An English Garden Murder An English Garden Murder
2024
The Lifeboat Sisters The Lifeboat Sisters
2024
The Lost Girls of Ireland The Lost Girls of Ireland
2021
The American Wife The American Wife
2024
The Summer Sand Pact The Summer Sand Pact
2020
The Harbor House The Harbor House
2022