• $6.99

Publisher Description

A stunning book set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and compelling historical detail, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Tracy Rees.

It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family.

There, she is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is soon captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and before long Maria’s life takes a tragic turn.

Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences …

Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

Reviews

Praise for Liz Trenow:

‘Extraordinary, fascinating …deeply rooted in history’ Midweek, Radio 4

“Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms
the centerpiece of the story.”
Lucinda Riley

‘An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.’ Daily Express

“An intriguing patchwork of past and present, upstairs
and downstairs, hope and despair.” Daisy Goodwin,

‘A novel about the human spirit – Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free … Splendid.’ Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant’s Girl

‘This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating … Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.’ Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

About the author

Liz worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
5 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
1.8
MB

More Books by Liz Trenow