• $7.99

Publisher Description

"An exquisite novel." Martha Conway, author of Thieving Forest

A Renaissance-era woman artist and an American scholar. Linked by a 500-year-old mystery...

The secrets of the past are irresistible--and dangerous.

1500: Born during a time wracked by war and plague, Renaissance-era artist Mira grows up in a Pyrenees convent believing she is an orphan. When tragedy strikes, Mira learns the devastating truth about her own origins. But does she have the strength to face those who would destroy her?

2015: Centuries later, art scholar Zari unearths traces of a mysterious young woman named Mira in two 16th-century portraits. Obsessed, Zari tracks Mira through the great cities of Europe to the pilgrim's route of Camino de Santiago--and is stunned by what she finds. Will her discovery be enough to bring Mira's story to life?

A powerful story and an intriguing mystery, The Girl from Oto is an unforgettable novel of obsession, passion, and human resilience.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Anthony Doerr.

 

Praise for The Girl from Oto:

"I loved the lush descriptions and the hard-nosed female characters who find a way to get what they want in a man's world. An exquisite novel." 

--Martha Conway, winner of the North American Book Award for Thieving Forest

"An absorbing debut novel. I couldn't put it down." 

--Deborah Swift, author of The Gilded Lily

"From the opening sentence, I was utterly enchanted. Maroney has painted a dazzling portrait of two very different times in history -- the 15th Century and modern day. The historical detail has to be commended. It was as if I was peering through a looking glass -- a magical portal through time. The Girl from Oto is not only luxuriantly detailed, but the story itself is addictive to the extreme. It has enough heroes and villains to keep the reader engaged throughout. The pages practically turned themselves." 
-- Book of the Month Winner, Myths, Legends, Books, and Coffee Pots blog

"A powerful story and an intriguing mystery. A Red Ribbon winner and highly recommended."

--The Wishing Shelf Book Awards, U.K.
 

"From the very beginning I was enthralled with Mira, Zari, and their entwined journeys through history and the world of art. As a curator and art historian, it's a rare treat for me to find a novel that so lovingly reflects our joys and challenges. The Girl from Oto delivers--and I can't wait to spend more time with Mira."

--Jennifer Dasal, host of the ArtCurious podcast

"With The Girl from Oto, Amy Maroney beautifully interweaves the story of Mira, a sixteenth-century painter raised in a convent, with that of Zari, a young woman art historian of the present day. Both tales are gripping, replete with complex and intriguing personalities. Fictional characters though they may be, Mira and Zari bring us to realize a fundamental truth: throughout history, women have contributed on many levels, and in significant ways, to the world of art."

--Erika Gaffney, senior acquisitions editor at Amsterdam University Press and founder of Artherstory

GENRE
Arts & Entertainment
RELEASED
2017
22 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
552
Pages
PUBLISHER
Artelan Press
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
3.8
MB

More Books by Amy Maroney

Other Books in This Series