• $17.99

Publisher Description

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

A missing child
When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fjällbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered.

A murder
Back then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Hedström starts investigating, with his wife, bestselling crime writer Erica Falck, by his side.

A community torn apart
But as Patrik and Erica dig deeper, it seems that everyone in the tight-knit community is hiding something. And soon, the residents must confront the fact that there could be a murderer in their midst…

Reviews

‘A satisfying and counterintuitive clash between the cosy and gruesome strands of the genre’ Guardian

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

‘Domesticity and brutality are Lackberg staples… Tightly plotted… Unflinching’ Sunday Times

‘Heart-stopping and heart-warming … a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing’ Val McDermid

‘Pacy … with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche’ Sunday Times

‘A top-class Scandinavian crime writer’ The Times

‘The rock star of Nordic Noir’ Independent

‘Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror’ Guardian

‘Both chilling and thrilling’ Sun

About the author

Camilla Lackberg is a worldwide bestseller renowned for her brilliant contemporary psychological thrillers. Her novels have sold over 20 million copies in 55 countries with translations into 37 languages.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
22 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
784
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Nanny_ jan ,

Want more in this serirs

Love all Camilla Lackberg books, I wait impatiently for the next book!

Magstar2 ,

Nasty

I enjoyed this author’s early books but the characters have become cliched. The subject matter of this book I found distasteful, and the backstory set in the 1700s was unnecessary and quite nasty, involving abortion and torture, to no good end as it had no bearing in the modern-day storyline. As for the main story, do we need to read about massacres for entertainment? I won’t be buying any more in this series. Too many exhumations, too many police not quite remembering things, too many cinnamon buns. Formulaic and now predictable and boring.

STW68 ,

The girl in the woods

I was a bit disappointed in Camilla’s latest book which is hard to say because I’ve loved all her books and I’ve always been excited for each new release. This book I found had to many sub stories and characters and it all got a bit muddled for me with trying to focus on the main story line of murder and then revisiting the old murder and then having to connect to the 1770 story and also the refugee storyline. The Bertil antics is just getting old and stale now as well!! I was very disappointed in how the books 1770 story didn’t tie in either as I was expecting it to do..that seemed to be a rushed ending but I would have preferred to know the outcome of the brother in law, sister and especially her daughter after her curse. It was still a good book but not compared to her other titles.

More Books by Camilla Läckberg

Other Books in This Series