• $9.99

Publisher Description

The no. 1 bestseller from Australia's favourite novelist, author of the Scarecrow series and the Jack West Jr series with new novel The Three Secret Cities out now.

"A big bold blockbuster" Sydney Morning Herald

It is a secret the Chinese government has been keeping for forty years. They have found a species of animal no one believed even existed.

The Chinese are ready to unveil their fabulous creatures in the greatest zoo ever constructed. VIPs and journalists, including reptile expert Dr Cassandra Jane 'CJ' Cameron, are invited to see the beasts for the first time.

The visitors are assured by their Chinese hosts that they are perfectly safe, that nothing can go wrong.
Of course it can't...

Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton will love Matthew Reilly.

PRAISE FOR THE GREAT ZOO OF CHINA

"a heady mixture of everything old and new in the popular thriller" Saturday Age

"urgent pacing and whiplash action" West Australian

"The story rapidly races through a series of increasingly spectacular action set pieces to the final breathless conclusion" Sydney Morning Herald

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2014
10 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
544
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan Australia
SELLER
Macmillan Publishers Australia and Pan Macmillan Australia
SIZE
15.1
MB

Customer Reviews

CrazyNH ,

Solid Action but...

Great action as usual but its plot lines and characters seemed rather simplified compared to earlier books. Slowing the pace at times to create depth and empathy, unexpected surprise, would have won me more. Not to say that I could write it! 😄

Sreymom47 ,

The Great Zoo of China

I started reading Reilly's books back in the Scarecrow days. I found his concept of nonstop action without intervening explanations interesting. I finished Scarecrow exhausted and saturated, but recognised it as a good read. Not in the same class as 'Day of the Jackal', but nevertheless a very good read, so I read all his other (7?) books of the same vintage and found something to enjoy in all of them. This zoo of China book is rubbish, and often so boring I had to force myself to keep reading (maybe... nuh). Give me Donald E Westlake any day. Sorry Matthew Reilly, you've not fulfilled your promise.

Pappy n Nanny ,

Whitty

We have found this very interesting. We have Matthew Reilly's last book published for Christmas, hoping its as good and intriguing as this novel .

More Books by Matthew Reilly