• $11.99

Publisher Description

'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny' The New York Times

'The next Sophie Kinsella' Bustle

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman sit across from each other every day . . . and they hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. HATE. Lucy can't understand Joshua's joyless, uptight approach to his job and refusal to smile. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy's overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and desire to be liked.

Now they're up for the same promotion and Lucy, usually a determined people-pleaser, has had enough: it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . .

This bestselling, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is an unmissable, utterly loveable treat and is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's MY NOT SO PERFECT LIFE or Jo Watson's LOVE TO HATE YOU

'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping
'The most uplifting novel you'll read this year' Amazon reviewer

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2016
9 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Rachoum86 ,

Couldn’t put it done

What an amazing romantic book. It had me wanting to just keep reading not attend to my 3 little kids. :) I loved it!

ScarletOphelia ,

What a feel good!

I downloaded this book 12 hours ago and I’ve already finished it. I’m totally in love with the characters. One of the best feel good books I’ve read in a lonnnng time. Probably in my top 10 favourite books ! Love love love

RWbooklover ,

Wonderful!

Reread April 2019:
Loved this reread even more than the first. Adored every word.

26/11/16: This was absolutely delicious!! I loved the Narky hate games, the competition. The complete nerd-fest. The dorky Skype-ing with her parents. Little Fat Dick. All of these things made me laugh.

The hate gave way to awareness of the other. The chemistry was off the charts, you could cut the sexual tension with a knife. OMG, this author has an amazing way with words, with projecting imagery and feelings through the POV of Lucy. I felt everything. The pages of delicious kissing and touching, discovering, feeling. One giant foreplay of sensations. This is slow-burn hell, or slow-burn heaven, depending on how much you love the tease. The best!!

Just to give full disclosure: this was a library paperback loan, which took me nearly a month to read the first 45%. Not because of the book, but the timing. Sickness circling around my family, world events surrounding an election, sickness circling once again... Picking up the paperback to read a chapter here, a chapter there was a complete joy, and I was in no rush to hurry it through. Then last night I hit that place of no-return, reading well into the night alone on my couch with the lights on - as you do with a freaking paperback!! Picking it back up and reading obsessively today while grateful kids were happy to chill and watch movies... Well mostly ;-)

This goes into my favourites list, I cannot believe this is a debut novel!! I wait in great anticipation for more from this author.

More Books by Sally Thorne