Publisher Description

Lars Emmerich is right up there with James Patterson, David Baldacci, Nelson DeMille, and Frederick Forsyth.” - Gene GeRue, Amazon

EPISODE FIVE: The fifth installment of the international sensation THE INCIDENT, a Sam Jameson Serial Thriller.

Where do you run when even the good guys want you dead?

Special Agent Sam Jameson is having a bad week. People are trying to kill her.


That would be business as usual in the counterespionage world, except that it’s the good guys who have her in the crosshairs.

Why are the DC Metro police trying to kidnap her? Do her bosses at Homeland want her in a body bag, too?

And why does everyone she talks to seem to end up in the morgue?

Will a ruthless mercenary, a hapless American traitor, and a dead man’s cryptic clue hold the key to Sam’s survival? As the noose tightens around her neck, Sam must uncover a brutal and deadly conspiracy before she becomes its next victim.

Interview with author Lars Emmerich

Q - So, what makes the Special Agent Sam Jameson series special?

A - It's a mix of things, really. When I set out to write these books, I wanted to create something that mirrored exactly the kind of books I like to read. My top picks are usually espionage and private detective novels, any of the thousands of thrillers and mysteries best sellers, and, of course, books featuring classic pulp heroes. I also like heroes with problems and villains who are frighteningly human, maybe a little too much like us.

The Sam Jameson books are a mix of these genres. The series focuses on the mystery and thriller / espionage genre overall, with a couple of themes borrowed from financial thrillers thrown in for good measure, a healthy dose of the stuff that makes political thrillers great, and a serial killer novel or two to keep things interesting. Why such a mixing of themes? Because life isn't monolithic and book genres are arbitrary. There's murder in spy novels and there's espionage in political conspiracy thrillers.

Overall, the Sam Jameson series is designed to keep you turning the pages. I've done my best to make sure there's never a dull moment, and I think Sam's chutzpah and attitude makes for good entertainment. But I'm probably a little biased.

Q - What order should I read the books in?

A - I’ve written the series so you can read the books in any order, and all the story threads will tie up nicely by the time you're finished. The Incident is a standalone story, and it occurs before the Devolution series. If you do want to read them in order, I'd suggest the following sequence:

- The Incident Season 1 (this is Episodes 1 through 4)

- The Incident Season 2 (Episodes 5 through 8)

- Devolution

- Meltdown

- Mindscrew

- Balls Deep (A Peter Kittredge espionage and suspense thriller)

Q - So, why should readers give these books a try?

A - Because the Sam Jameson series is a fast, fun thrill-ride that never lets up!

Ultimately, readers who enjoy a blazing pace, characters with depth and distinctive voices, and a plot that twists and turns all the way to the end will enjoy this series.

Sam Jameson Espionage and Suspense Thrillers Series eBook Categories:

- Female Espionage Thrillers

- Female Suspense Thrillers

- Women Sleuths

- Female Mystery Series

- Female Crime Thrillers

- Private Investigator Series

- Female Political Thrillers

- Female Conspiracy Thrillers

- Thrillers and Mysteries Best Sellers

- Thrillers 100 Must Reads

- Thriller Female Detective Series

Crime & Thrillers
14 May
Polymath Publishing
Polymath Records and Publishing

More Books by Lars Emmerich

Other Books in This Series