• $4.99

Publisher Description

‘Mama, wake up.’

The little girl reached for her mother’s face with one pudgy hand. But the eyes stayed closed, and the blood continued to trickle across the floor.


When the body of a young woman is found, tied to her bed and the victim of a brutal attack in her own home, Detective Morgan Brookes is sickened by what she finds as she searches the house. And unprepared for the nightmares it inspires about her childhood.


When the DNA collected gives a positive ID, Morgan can’t wait to put the attacker behind bars. But the person it matches to is already in prison. How could the DNA of someone who has been locked up for over twenty years have shown up in Morgan’s crime scene? And then they make another close match. To Morgan herself.


Faced with the impossible proof that she is somehow connected to this case, Morgan delves deep into the crimes of a killer who stalked the Lake District two decades ago. But distracted by the old case, she misses the signs that he has found a new victim. And when he strikes close to home, Morgan finally realises that she has been living on borrowed time. To find this killer, it’s clear she must confront the nightmares in her past…


A heart-racing, nerve-wracking crime thriller. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Patricia Gibney will be completely gripped.

Readers love Helen Phifer:


Brilliant… keeps you on the edge of your seat right until the last chapter… loving this series and the characters in it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Plenty of twists… I didn’t want to put it down… suspenseful and riveting, you will want time to read it in one sitting.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Hooked from the beginning and it kept me engaged until the very last page.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Full of twists… full of tension… several times I caught myself holding my breath.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Another thrilling, tightly plotted addition to this already fabulous series… I loved this book fast-paced, realistic plenty of action, mystery and suspects. Definitely comes highly recommended and deserves all of 5 stars.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


I thoroughly enjoyed… an engrossing tale… I don’t know where the time went, one minute I started to read and a few hours later I was finishing.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A humdinger of a crime thriller that grabs you and draws you in from the brilliantly written and powerful opening scene to the nail-biting, butt-clenching finale.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
10 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
325
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Cheekymama13 ,

Thoroughly enjoyed this

Book One was good and book two was even better! Read in one sitting and can’t wait for the next one.

Marns17 ,

A thrilling crime thriller

Following a young girls horrifying discovery, Detective Morgan Brookes embarks on a journey to solve her murder that hits a lot closer to home than she could ever have imagined…

The mystery in The Killer’s Girl plays out well and had me on the edge of my seat. I felt so many different emotions throughout, that when I was done, I was mentally exhausted, but in a good way. Helen Phifer takes her reader along for the ride on this one and has you experiencing the story as the characters do.

I enjoyed seeing a more vulnerable side to Detective Morgan Brookes this time around, as the case brings up painful memories from her past, as well as personal tragedy in the present, that nearly breaks her. Helen Phifer really puts her through the wringer but, she still manages to put one foot in front of the other.

As is always the way with Helen Phifer’s work, the writing is sharp and really packs a punch! The pace is frantic, helped by the short chapters that just keep you wanting to flick the pages and the ending sets up what should be another thrilling read, which I will be impatiently waiting for!

The Killer’s Girl is another fantastic addition to the Detective Morgan Brookes series and whilst it cab be read as a stand-alone, I do recommend you start with One Left Alive as you would be missing out on another smashing read! It was a pleasure to be able to read and review The Killer’s Girl, which I highly recommend.

More Books by Helen Phifer

Other Books in This Series