The Lost Letters

Absolutely heartbreaking wartime fiction about love and family secrets

    • 4.2 • 19 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship and family secrets in World War Two. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society


‘I adored this book, devouring it in a couple of days!... A beautiful and moving story that will stay with me for quite a while. Five shiny stars!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


What if keeping your loved ones safe meant never seeing them again? 


Norfolk, 1940: Sylvia’s husband Howard has gone off to war, and she is struggling to raise her two children alone. Her only solace is her beach hut in Wells-Next-The-Sea, and her friendship with Connie, a woman she meets on the beach. The two women form a bond that will last a lifetime, and Sylvia tells Connie something that no-one else knows: about a secret lover… and a child.


Canada, present day: When Martha’s beloved father dies, he leaves her two things: a mysterious stash of letters to an English woman called ‘Catkins’ and directions to a beach hut in the English seaside town of Wells. Martha is at a painful crossroads in her own life, and seizes this chance for a trip to England – to discover more about her family’s past, and the identity of her father’s secret correspondent.


The tragedy of war brought heartbreaking choices for Sylvia. And a promise made between her and Connie has echoed down the years. For Martha, if she uncovers the truth, it could change everything… 


What readers are saying about The Lost Letters:


‘I LOVED this book!... I had to keep reading!... My heart broke.’ Mama’s Book Ramblins


A gorgeous debut, crackling with atmosphere and emotion.’ Lucinda Riley, bestselling author of The Love LetterThe Midnight Rose and The Seven Sisters


‘A beautiful, heart-warming, wonderfully written tale! I loved it from start to finish… A story that moved me and one that will stay with me for a very long time.’ Renita D’Silva


‘There is not one thing I did not love about this story. Right from the beginning I was drawn in… The Lost Letters is a beautiful and poignant story that has completely captured my heart… By far, this might just be my top read for the year.’ Sinfully Wicked Books, 5 stars


‘I absolutely loved this book…I got a lump in my throat at times just reading this part of the story… an emotional, heart-wrenching, beautiful and poignant read that I completely fell in love with… Have the tissues ready for this one, you may need them!’ Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars


Once I got into the book I found myself becoming seriously addicted to reading it… To say that I felt as though I had been through the emotional wringer during the reading of this book is an understatement… tugged on my heartstrings.’ Ginger Book Geek


Had me enthralled… a thought-provoking and moving story about identity, family and friendship. With realistic and believable characters, clues to find and a mystery to solve, this will keep you entertained for hours.’ Novel Deelights


So heart-wrenching… what in the world would you do in that situation? There just is no good answer! A beautiful and intriguing story that will keep you turning those pages and wanting to hug your loved ones!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘What an amazing book… Couldn't put it down and I couldn't wait to find out what happened.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


The Lost Letters is a well told and poignant story about family secrets which impact on the future, friendship, promises, decisions and romance… vivid and heart-breaking… absolutely meticulous and totally fascinating.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A very heart-warming read… a tear-jerker… I highly recommend it to all readers.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
2 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
420
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books by Sarah Mitchell

2019
2021
2017
2019
2019
2019

Customers Also Bought

2020
2020
2018
2019
2019
2019