The Madonna of the Almonds The Madonna of the Almonds

The Madonna of the Almonds

    • 4.7 • 3 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

The second unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

Bernardino Luini, favoured apprentice of Leonardo da Vinci, is commissioned to paint a religious fresco in the hills of Lombardy. His eye is caught by the beautiful Simonetta di Saronno, a young noblewoman who has lost her husband to battle, and whose fortune is gone. Captivated by her beauty and sadness, Bernardino paints Simonetta's likeness, immortalizing her as the Madonna in his miraculous frescoes in Saronno's church. As the sittings progress, artist and model fall in love, and Simonetta reciprocates Luini's genius by creating a drinnk for her lover from the juice of almonds - the famous Amaretto di Saronno.

As the frescoes and the liqueur near their completion, the couple's affair distils into a heady brew of religious scandal which threatens their love, and ultimately their lives. Who is the mysterious Jew with a golden hand? And how does a mute young soldier affect Simonetta's destiny?

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
19 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books Like This

The Venetian Contract The Venetian Contract
2012
Mirror Mirror Mirror Mirror
2009
Tuscan Daughter Tuscan Daughter
2021
Daughter of Siena Daughter of Siena
2011
The White Witch The White Witch
2012
Works of Émile Zola Works of Émile Zola
2010

More Books by Marina Fiorato

The Glassblower of Murano The Glassblower of Murano
2012
The Venetian Contract The Venetian Contract
2012
Daughter of Siena Daughter of Siena
2011
Beatrice and Benedick Beatrice and Benedick
2014
Botticelli Secret Botticelli Secret
2010
The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh
2015