• $1.99

Publisher Description

The case was closed. Now everyone connected is getting killed. Let the games begin…

Henry and Caroline Redfearne’s annual ball is the hottest social event of the year.

But the fun is cut short by the discovery of their son’s body, apparently the victim of a frenzied assault. He was last seen heading off with 17-year-old Sophie Blackwood, and a blood trail seems to show that Sophie has been kidnapped.

DI Dani Stephens, still struggling after an attack by her serial killer brother, is thrown into a desperate search for a murderer who kills and keeps on killing. With Sophie still missing, and no clues in sight, she has nowhere to turn. Nowhere, that is, except her brother...

The next gripping instalment of the DI Stephens series is an unputdownable and twist-filled crime thriller, perfect for readers of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and LJ Ross.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
9 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
374
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Marns17 ,

Absolutely Brilliant

There is so much I want to say about this brilliant book, but my words are so jumbled in my head, which is spinning so fast, I can’t articulate them properly. Ok, so I took a break and now I’m ready to get stuck into this review. What a ripper of a read The Rules of Murder is. The second book in the series, (which can be read as a standalone) this has fast become one of my favourites and I hope there will be many books to come.

Rob has created a very dark, chilling and gripping story that is not for the faint-hearted. There is no settling into the story as Rob sets the pace at lightning speed. You know when you go to get into a car and the driver starts to take off before you are fully in it, well this is exactly what the start of this book feels like! You are thrown in and at no point does Rob take his foot off the accelerator until the final page!

It was great to catch up with Dani again to see how she has gotten on after the events in The Essence of Evil. This time, the layers are peeled back a bit further and we get more insight into her and her relationship with her serial killer twin brother, who I must say as a villain, is perfectly written in this role. In terms of the structure of the book, I enjoyed the story being told from Dani’s point of view, but I thought it was great to also have chapters told from the voice of the killer. It was really interesting that Rob revealed the killer quite early on in the story, making it a point of difference and away from the norm of waiting till towards the end for the big reveal.

Rob is absolutely on fire in this book and for me, it is his best yet! Everything about this is just on point from the plot, the characters, the pace, the writing and that thrilling ending. Just WOW! There were so many times throughout that I had to remind myself to breathe and slow down flicking the pages on the kindle as I was starting to miss some things in my haste to get to the conclusion.

I think you get the idea that I loved this book, so it should be no surprise that I am including this in my best books for 2020. It just delivers on so many aspects of what makes a book great and I can’t wait for the next instalment. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review The Rules of Murder which I can not recommend highly enough.

Thank you to NetGalley, Canelo and Rob Sinclair for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Rules of Murder which I have reviewed honestly and vol

More Books by Rob Sinclair

Other Books in This Series