The Talented Mrs Greenway The Talented Mrs Greenway

The Talented Mrs Greenway

the unmissable Australian historical novel of 2023 for readers of Kate Grenville and Geraldine Brooks

    • 4.2 • 24 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

From a bestselling Australian author, this compellingly realised novel brings to life the story of an enigmatic figure, wife to feted colonial architect Francis Greenway, and asks, whose hand really shaped Sydney? Who is the talented Mrs Greenway?

1814 Sydney When Mary Greenway, freshly arrived from the old country, steps into the maelstrom of Sydney Town with three children at her skirts, she has high hopes of a new beginning, despite having little money and a husband in irons. After all, the sudden death of her sadistic first husband has meant freedom from her gilded cage and Francis Greenway is an architect of some promise, under the protection of Admiral Phillip himself.

Mary herself is a woman of great resources and an even greater creative passion, a passion that will surely burn through anything that the filthy, burgeoning, vitality of colonial Sydney can throw at her. Soon ensconced in a tiny cottage in George Street, Mary sets about moulding a life for her family from the unpromising clay of this new colony, with a determination fired in equal parts by guilt for her disastrous past action that nearly brought ruin to them all and desire to see her true calling realised.

When she is befriended by Elizabeth Macquarie it seems that fate is smiling on them with the promise of a better life in her grasp. But fate is a difficult mistress and with past secrets to keep, and current betrayals on the brink of discovery, the stakes are higher than ever. With Mary's grip on this new life slipping, will her past lies come back to haunt her?

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
1 November
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Fiction
SELLER
HarperCollins Australia Pty Limited
SIZE
2.8
MB

More Books Like This

The Girl In The Painting The Girl In The Painting
2020
The Naturalist's Daughter The Naturalist's Daughter
2018
The Butterfly Collector The Butterfly Collector
2022
The Chocolate Factory The Chocolate Factory
2024
Hope in the Valleys Hope in the Valleys
2022
Roses Roses
2011

More Books by Téa Cooper

The Fossil Hunter The Fossil Hunter
2021
The Naturalist's Daughter The Naturalist's Daughter
2018
The Woman In The Green Dress The Woman In The Green Dress
2019
The Cartographer's Secret The Cartographer's Secret
2020
The Girl In The Painting The Girl In The Painting
2020
The Butterfly Collector The Butterfly Collector
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Milliner of Bendigo The Milliner of Bendigo
2023
The Prodigal Sister The Prodigal Sister
2021
Sisters of Freedom Sisters of Freedom
2021
A Woman of Courage A Woman of Courage
2023
The Forthright Woman The Forthright Woman
2022
The French Gift The French Gift
2021