The Things We Cannot Say

    • 4.6 • 359 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

A powerful WWII novel for readers and viewers of All the Light We Cannot See

2019
Life changed beyond recognition for Alice when her son, Eddie, was born with autism spectrum disorder. She must do everything to support him, but at what cost to her family? When her cherished grandmother is hospitalised, a hidden box of mementoes reveals a tattered photo of a young man, a tiny leather shoe and a letter. Her grandmother begs Alice to return to Poland to see what became of those she held dearest.

WWII Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn't know if Tomasz is alive or dead.

2019 In Poland, separated from her family, Alice begins to uncover the story her grandmother is so desperate to tell, and discovers a love that bloomed in the winter of 1942. As a painful family history comes to light, will the struggles of the past and present finally reach a heartbreaking resolution?

Inspired by the author's own family history, THE THINGS WE CANNOT SAY unearths a tragic love story and a family secret whose far-reaching effects will alter lives forever.

'Kelly Rimmer has raised the already-high bar with this unforgettable novel, THE THINGS WE CANNOT SAY. Alina and Tomasz's story is one of bravery, resilience, and the lengths we will go to for the ones we love. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author' Sally Hepworth, author of THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES

'THE THINGS WE CANNOT SAY is such an emotional and powerful read that I found it almost impossible to put down. I was riveted, and will be recommending this book to everyone I know' Lisa Ireland, author of THE SHAPE OF US

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
26 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Australia
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

lelbuck ,

Captivating

I was captivated from the moment I started reading until the last page. A family story and history story woven together beautifully.

KTDJJT ,

The things we cannot say

Great read, could not put the book down

Woodsieeeeee ,

Loved this book

A great read

More Books Like This

2020
2016
2012
2012
2023
2012

More Books by Kelly Rimmer

2018
2015
2020
2023
2016
2016