The Unwilling The Unwilling

The Unwilling

The gripping new thriller from the author of the Richard & Judy Book Club pick

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

From the master of US crime fiction comes a thriller about revenge, justice, family - with one of the most original villains of the year. Perfect for fans of The Dry by Jane Harper.

'One of today's finest thriller writers' - DAILY MAIL
__________________

NOT EVERYONE DESERVES A SECOND CHANCE . . .

After a tour of Vietnam and a three-year stint in prison, Jason is back in town and wants to rebuild his relationship with Gibby, the younger brother he hasn't seen for years. Determined to make that connection, he coaxes Gibby into a day at the lake: long hours of sunshine and whisky and older women.

But when the four of them encounter a prison transfer bus on a stretch of empty road, one of the women taunts the prisoners, causing a riot on the bus.

Soon after, Tyra is savagely murdered.

Given his violent history, suspicion turns first to Jason. Determined to prove his older brother's innocence, Gibby must avoid the police and dive deep into his brother's hidden life, a journey that takes him into the darkest corners of the community.

What he discovers is a truth more disturbing than he could have imagined: not just the identity of the killer and the reasons for Tyra's murder, but the forces that shaped his brother in Vietnam, the reason he was framed - and why the most dangerous man alive wants him back in prison.

Set in the American South, The Unwilling combines crime, suspense and searing glimpses into the human mind and soul in New York Times bestselling author John Hart's singular style.
__________________

PRAISE FOR JOHN HART:

'A master storyteller' - HARLAN COBEN

'A clever mystery' - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

'Read this novel' - DAVID BALDACCI, author of ONE GOOD DEED

'If you crave thrillers that are vividly beautiful, graphic, will make you bleed, try John Hart' - PATRICIA CORNWELL, author of THE SCARPETTA SERIES

'Whenever I thought that I had unravelled the plot, another twist left me flummoxed' - GUARDIAN

'John Hart has clearly joined the top rank of thriller writers' - VINCE FLYNN, author of TOTAL POWER

'A Chandleresque thriller' - SUNDAY TIMES

'Raw, tender, brutal, and exquisite' - C.J. BOX, author of DARK SKY

'Crime fiction at its absolute best' - MARK GREANEY, author of RELENTLESS

'Explores betrayal and forgiveness in indelible prose' - OBSERVER

'Richly complex . . . this is John Hart at his lyrical, atmospheric best' - TAMI HOAG, author of THE BOY

'A heart-pounding thriller' - METRO

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
25 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
SELLER
Hot Key Books Limited
SIZE
1.6
MB

More Books Like This

The Pawn (The Bowers Files Book #1) The Pawn (The Bowers Files Book #1)
2007
Small Felonies: Fifty Short Mystery Stories Small Felonies: Fifty Short Mystery Stories
2012
Noir Masters Triple Threat Treasury Noir Masters Triple Threat Treasury
2012
Parting Shot Parting Shot
2017
Opening Moves Opening Moves
2012
The Poser The Poser
2020

More Books by John Hart

The Last Child The Last Child
2009
Iron House Iron House
2011
Redemption Road Redemption Road
2016
Down River Down River
2009
The King of Lies The King of Lies
2009
The Hush The Hush
2018

Customers Also Bought

Righteous Righteous
2017
Devil in a Blue Dress Devil in a Blue Dress
2017
For the Dead For the Dead
2020
To The Lions To The Lions
2019
Heaven, My Home Heaven, My Home
2019
Bluebird, Bluebird Bluebird, Bluebird
2017