WAKE

    • 4.0 • 467 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

WINNER OF THE DEBUT CRIME ACWA NED KELLY AWARD 2023
WINNER OF THE ABIA'S MATT RICHELL AWARD FOR NEW WRITER OF THE YEAR 2023
SHORTLISTED FOR THE DEBUT FICTION INDIE BOOK AWARD 2023

'Politically savvy, cleverly plotted . . . the kind of book that invites the ravenous language of binge reading: compulsive, propulsive, addictive'
NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

'It is hard to believe WAKE is a first novel. Plot, pacing and characterisation are so finely judged that it feels more like the work of a past master' THE TIMES

'WAKE is blazing its own trail. A yarn that feels so plausible and terrifying, it stays with you' AUSTRALIAN WOMEN'S WEEKLY

A Top Ten bestseller, WAKE is a searing debut crime novel where the grief and guilt surrounding an unsolved disappearance still haunt a small farming community . . . and will ultimately lead to a reckoning.

Evelyn simply vanished.


The small town of Nannine lies in the harsh red interior of New South Wales. Once a thriving outback centre, this ghost town now has one sinister claim to fame: the still-unsolved disappearance of Evelyn McCreery nineteen years ago from the bedroom she shared with her twin sister.

Mina McCreery's life has been defined by the intense and ongoing public interest in her sister's case. Now a reclusive adult, Mina lives alone on her family's sunbaked, destocked sheep farm. The million-dollar reward her mother established to solve the disappearance has never been paid out.

Enter Lane Holland, a private investigator who dropped out of the police academy to earn a living cracking cold cases. Lane has his eye on the unclaimed money, but he also has darker motivations.

WAKE is a powerful, unsparing story of how trauma ripples outward when people's private tragedies become public property, and how it's never too late for the truth to set things right.


'
Outstanding . . . This is both a well-plotted, gripping mystery and a sensitive exploration of the aftermath of trauma' THE GUARDIAN

'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction' CHRIS HAMMER

'My crime novel of the year . . . Intense and evocative, it tears at the heart-strings' DAILY MAIL

'We devoured this stunningly drawn, deeply compelling mystery in one day' CRIME MONTHLY (UK)

'Burr brings a piercing psychological acuity, creating a nuanced examination of the emotional and reputational stakes of a murder investigation' CANBERRA TIMES

'WAKE is a stunning, masterfully written novel . . . Thought-provoking and intense, it is Aussie noir at its finest and marks Shelley Burr out as a rising star'
SUNDAY EXPRESS

'There is a complexity and depth to the characters. WAKE will appeal to fans of Jane Harper, Christian White and Chris Hammer' BOOKS+PUBLISHING

WAKE includes a bonus extract from Shelley Burr's highly anticipated second novel RIPPER.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
27 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Australia
SELLER
Hachette Australia Pty Ltd
SIZE
5.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Reich2704 ,

Gripping

Kept me guessing. Loved the main character too.

Tazzydiva ,

Great Aussie thriller

Loved this one. Mina McCreery & her sister Evelyn (aka Evie} are twins but one day Evie just disappeared from her foster home. Lane Holland from Byron Bay takes on cases that others have failed to find , he helps Mina find out the truth about her disappearance. Very satisfying conclusion.

Cecee! ,

Kept me guessing

This book will keep you guessing but leave enough space for your imagination to wander into.

More Books Like This

2012
2023
2023
2016
2018
2017

More Books by Shelley Burr

2023
2023
2023
2022

Customers Also Bought

2022
2021
2022
2022
2023
2023