Shuggie Bain

Winner of the Booker Prize

    • 4.7 • 3 Ratings
    • 5,99 €
    • 5,99 €

Publisher Description

Winner of the Booker Prize
Winner of 'Book of the Year' and 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards
A BBC 'Big Jubilee Read'

'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize
'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' – Observer

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.

It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no’ right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

'A heartbreaking novel' – The Times
'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' – Daily Mail

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
20 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books by Douglas Stuart

2021
2022
2020
2022
2022
2017

Customers Also Bought

2020
2019
2017
2021
2020
2021