The Patient

    • R$ 34,90
    • R$ 34,90

Descrição da editora

She is his doctor. He will be her downfall.

The bestselling phenomenon returns…

‘Beautifully paced’ CARA HUNTER

‘Beautifully written with an achingly real romance at its heart’ SARAH HILARY

‘A masterclass in upmarket thriller writing’ CHARLOTTE PHILBY

‘I raced through it!’ EMMA CURTIS

When Rachel, a GP in Salisbury, meets Luc, the attraction between them is instant. But Rachel is married with a daughter – and Luc isn’t well.

Despite themselves, a heady love affair begins – one that threatens to risk everything Rachel has worked for. And when someone in the town is found dead, the spotlight turns to Luc. Torn between her career, her marriage and her heart, Rachel finds herself in the middle of something much darker than she could have imagined…

A beautifully written domestic suspense story from the master of the what-if novel.

PRAISE FOR THE PATIENT:

‘This elegant, multi-layered story has taken my breath away. Much more than a murder mystery, it explores mental health, middle age, marriage and love, while luring you to the edge of your seat’ JANICE HALLETT

‘A powerful obsession turns dark in this gripping tale of desire, betrayal and murder’ T.M. LOGAN

‘Constantly surprising’ THE SUNDAY TIMES

‘With plenty of tension and shocking moments, this atmospheric story is perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Doctor Foster’ CANDIS MAGAZINE

'A breath-taking dissection of a marriage' Woman & Home

‘A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending’ Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal

‘We absolutely loved this . . . It's difficult to believe that this accomplished book is a debut’ Richard & Judy Book Club

‘Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending’ Mail on Sunday

‘Gave me goosebumps’ Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes

‘Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world – but be careful. It might not be what you think…’ Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of I Made A Mistake

‘Beautifully written and suffused with dread. A compelling literary thriller’ Gilly Macmillan, bestselling author of The Nanny

About the author

While working as a GP, Jane Shemilt completed a postgraduate diploma in Creative Writing at Bristol University and went on to study for the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa, gaining both with distinction. Her first novel, Daughter, was selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club, shortlisted for the Edgar Award and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and went on to become the bestselling debut novel of 2014. In 2020 she moved across to HarperFiction and The Patient is her first novel with HarperCollins.

She and her husband, a professor of neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol.

Her books have sold over 700,000 copies worldwide, and she has been published in 23 territories.

GÊNERO
Mistérios e suspenses
LANÇADO
2022
28 de abril
IDIOMA
EN
Inglês
PÁGINAS
320
EDITORA
HarperCollins
VENDEDOR
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
TAMANHO
2,2
MB

Mais livros de Jane Shemilt

2023
2022
2019
2018
2018
2015

Outros clientes também compraram

2022
2021
2022
2021
2021
2018