• $17.99

Publisher Description

The scene is set for murder...and Kitty Underhay’s partner has been cast as the killer.

Late summer 1933. After a quarrel with too-plucky-for-her-own-good amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay, dashing ex-army captain Matthew Bryant is nursing his wounds, and a tumbler of brandy, when there’s a heavy knock at the door and he finds himself arrested for murder. The body of aspiring actress Pearl Bright has been found, strangled with one of Matt’s own bootlaces, and the evidence seems to be stacked against him. 

The local constabulary might have locked Matt up, but before they can throw away the key, Kitty hears the news and hies to his aid, determined to prove his innocence. And when her investigations lead her to the home of retired theater impresario Stanley Davenport, and the local amateur dramatics society, Kitty uncovers a web of deceit that stretches far beyond the stage make-up. But Kitty’s digging is bringing her to the attention of the killer. Without her partner in crime-fighting, can Kitty expose them and clear Matt’s name? Or will it be curtains for them both? 

A gripping Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T. E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.  

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
NARRATOR
AT
Alex Tregear
LENGTH
08:46
hr min
RELEASED
2020
June 30
PUBLISHER
Hachette UK - Bookouture
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
341.6
MB

Listeners Also Bought