The Midwife of Auschwitz (Unabridged) The Midwife of Auschwitz (Unabridged)

The Midwife of Auschwitz (Unabridged‪)‬

    • 4.6 • 8 Ratings
    • $21.99

    • $21.99

Publisher Description

Auschwitz, 1943: As I held the tiny baby in my arms, my fingers traced the black tattoo etched across her little thigh. And I prayed that one day this set of numbers, identical to her mother’s, would have the power to reunite a family torn apart by war….

Inspired by an incredible true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s fight for love, life, and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness.

Ana Kaminski is pushed through the iron gates of Auschwitz beside her frightened young friend Ester Pasternak. As they reach the front of the line, Ana steps forward and quietly declares herself a midwife--and Ester her assistant. Their arms are tattooed and they’re ordered to the maternity hut. Holding an innocent newborn baby, Ana knows the fate of so many are in her hands and vows to do everything she can to save them.

When two guards in their chilling SS uniforms march in and snatch a blond-haired baby from its mother, it’s almost too much for Ana to bear. Consoling the distraught woman, Ana realises amid the terrible heartache there is a glimmer of hope. The guards are taking the healthiest babies and placing them with German families, so they will survive. And there are whispers the war is nearly over.... Ana and Ester begin to secretly tattoo little ones with their mother’s numbers, praying one day they might be reunited.

Then, early one morning, Ana notices the small bump under Ester’s thin striped clothing.

An absolutely heartbreaking WW2 novel of one woman’s bravery and determination to bring life and hope into a broken world. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network, and The Nightingale will be gripped.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
SA
Sophie Aldred
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:42
hr min
RELEASED
2022
May 31
PUBLISHER
Hachette UK - Bookouture
PRESENTED BY
Audible.com
SIZE
556.3
MB

Listeners Also Bought

The Midwife of Berlin (Unabridged) The Midwife of Berlin (Unabridged)
2023
The Berlin Zookeeper: An utterly gripping and heart-breaking World War 2 historical novel (Unabridged) The Berlin Zookeeper: An utterly gripping and heart-breaking World War 2 historical novel (Unabridged)
2021
The Secret Diary: Gripping and Emotional WW2 Historical Fiction (Unabridged) The Secret Diary: Gripping and Emotional WW2 Historical Fiction (Unabridged)
2021
Three Sisters Three Sisters
2021
Cilka's Journey Cilka's Journey
2019
The Warsaw Orphan The Warsaw Orphan
2021