The Orphans of Berlin

    • $15.99

    • $15.99

Publisher Description

'A moving novel of strength and resistance in the face of evil but also an inspiring journey of resilience after loss.' Erin Litteken, bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv

A heartbreaking World War 2 novel that tells the story of two women’s fight for love, family and hope, as the world crumbles around them. Based on the true story of the Kindertransport rescue from Nazi-occupied Europe.

Berlin, 1936. The Landau family are at the heart of their community, running a music shop in Berlin and just trying to survive. But their lives are unravelling as Hitler's power increases and the treatment of Jewish families deteriorates. Eldest daughter, Rachel, fears for her sisters' future and will do anything she can to keep them safe. Will she find hope in the darkness?

Paris, 1936. As whispers of war travel over from Europe, American debutante Kay escapes her mother's grasp and travels as a reluctant spy from Paris to Berlin. But a chance meeting with the Landau family will change her life forever. Kay is determined to give Rachel and her sisters a fighting chance in a society where the youngest are paying the ultimate price, even if it means making dangerous enemies along the way…

As the world marches toward war, these brave women will find strength in joining forces to save the ones they love. But they will need the support of one another more than they will ever realise in order to survive…

A gripping and heart-wrenching historical novel about hope, tragedy and two women's limitless courage. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and My Name is Eva.

What readers are saying about The Orphans of Berlin:

'The Orphans of Berlin is a moving novel of strength and resistance in the face of evil but also an inspiring journey of resilience after loss. Delving into a lesser known angle of the Kindertransport rescue efforts, Jina Bacarr deftly combines history and compelling characters into a fast-paced, emotional WWII story that readers will love.' Erin Litteken, bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
LL
Laurel Lefkow
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:49
hr min
RELEASED
2022
November 10
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SIZE
480.2
MB