The Strange Wonders of Roots The Strange Wonders of Roots

The Strange Wonders of Roots

    • Pre-Order
    • Expected May 28, 2024
    • $25.99

    • Pre-Order
    • $25.99

Publisher Description

From the acclaimed author of Manatee Summer comes a poignant story about a girl who learns to lay down roots as she’s drawn into a fight over a local grove of trees that’s in danger of being torn down. Perfect for fans of Hoot and Operation Redwood.

Holly Foster knows that nothing lasts—not hometowns or schools, or even family. It’s just safer to keep herself uninvolved. So when she’s sent to spend part of the summer with her uncle, she knows better than to get attached to him…or any part of his small Vermont town of Arden.

But when she arrives, she’s drawn into the drama that’s split the town: The local plastic factory is trying to tear down the trees in the center of Arden to build a visitor’s center and museum. Holly shocks herself by stepping into the fray and taking on one of the most powerful families in the area. But as she learns more about the town—and makes a new friend or two—Holly is determined to protect the one place she thinks she could finally belong. But will she be able to convince the other townspeople that the trees deserve to stay? 

GENRE
Kids & Young Adults
NARRATOR
JJA
Jennifer Jill Araya
LANGUAGE
EN
English
AVAILABLE
2024
May 28
PUBLISHER
Quill Tree Books
SIZE
byte